Minister Joly Announces New Leadership for Five National Museums

News Release

GATINEAU, December 20, 2017

The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage, today announced the appointment of five new chairs and two new vice-chairs to the boards of directors of several national museums.

Canadian Museum of History

- James D. Fleck (Chair), two-year mandate effective immediately

Mr. Fleck has pursued a career as an entrepreneur, teacher and public servant. He founded Fleck Manufacturing Inc., a producer of wire and cable products for the appliance, automotive and electronic industries, and led the company for 40 years until its acquisition by Noma Industries Limited in 1994. He has also served as chair of several other companies, most of them related to the computer software industry. Mr. Fleck was appointed Vice-Chair of the Museum’s board in 2012.

- Dean Brinton (Vice-Chair), three-year mandate effective immediately

Mr. Brinton has over 30 years of experience in the field of arts and culture in Canada. Since 2004, he has been the CEO of The Rooms Corporation in St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador. The Rooms houses a museum, the provincial archives and an art gallery, among other facilities. Mr. Brinton was recently named as member of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Foundation and served as a Canada Council for the Arts board member from 1996 to 2002.

Canadian Museum of Nature

- Judith Anne LaRocque (Chair), three-year mandate effective immediately

Ms. LaRocque has extensive and diverse work experience within the Government of Canada. In 2000, she was appointed Associate Deputy Minister of Canadian Heritage, and became Deputy Minister in 2002. She subsequently served as Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development in Paris, and more recently, as Acting Chair of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission.

Canadian Museum for Human Rights

- J. Pauline Rafferty (Chair), four-year mandate effective immediately

Pauline Rafferty was the CEO of the Royal British Columbia Museum from 2001 to 2012. A trained archaeologist, she has also worked in heritage interpretation. Throughout her career she has held various high-level positions in government, and was appointed Assistant Deputy Minister of the British Columbia Ministry of Women’s Equality in 1990.

Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21

- Robert Vineberg (Chair), four-year mandate effective immediately

Mr. Vineberg’s productive career in the federal public service spans more than 35 years, including 28 years in the area of immigration in various positions in Canada and abroad. He is currently a Senior Research Fellow at the Canada West Foundation. He has published several peer-reviewed articles about immigration history and policies.

National Gallery of Canada

- Françoise E. Lyon (Chair), four-year mandate effective immediately

Ms. Lyon is President and Managing Partner of the new private investment firm DGC Capital. Previously, she was Senior Vice President of the Canadian investment management firm Pembroke Private Wealth Management. Over the past 20 years, she has held senior executive positions in sales, marketing and business development, primarily in the investment industry. Ms. Lyon has extensive connections in private investment services, private wealth management, and financial institutions in Quebec, across Canada and around the world. She was also the President of the International Women’s Forum, focused on empowering the next generation of women leaders.

- Anne-Marie H. Applin (Vice-Chair), three-year mandate effective immediately

Ms. Applin is a marketing and public affairs strategist and the founder and President of Applin Marketing. She specializes in project planning, design and implementation in several areas, including financial services, architecture, construction, health care, government affairs, pharmaceuticals, consumer goods, tourism and education. Ms. Applin has extensive board experience, currently serving on the Tafelmusik Baroque Orchestra & Chamber Choir Board of Directors, the Empire Club of Canada Board of Directors and formerly on the National Film Board of Canada Board of Trustees (2007–13).

These appointments were made through the Government of Canada’s open, transparent and merit-based selection process.

Canada’s national museums are independent organizations within the Canadian Heritage portfolio.


“Canada’s national museums play a key role in preserving our heritage, supporting innovation and fostering a greater sense of understanding and pride among Canadians of all ages and backgrounds. I am confident that the wide range of expertise, unique perspectives and dedication of these individuals will provide dynamic leadership for our national museums.”

—The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage

Quick Facts

  • The chairs and vice-chairs of Canada’s national museums are appointed by the Minister of Canadian Heritage with the approval of the Governor in Council.

  • In 2016, the Government of Canada adopted a new approach to Governor in Council appointments. This approach respects gender parity and is supported by an open, transparent and merit-based selection process: one that will result in the recommendation of exceptionally competent candidates who truly reflect Canada’s diversity.

  • This new approach requires a selection process for the majority of full- and part-time positions.

  • All appointment opportunities for the 18 organizations in the Canadian Heritage Portfolio are posted as they become available on the Governor in Council Appointments website. Interested parties can apply online.

  • The national museums are governed by the Museums Act, which was passed into law in 1990.

Associated Links


For more information (media only), please contact:

Simon Ross
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: