About the games

The Invictus Games were created by Prince Harry in 2014 and are an international adaptive sporting event for ill, wounded and injured active duty and veteran service members. “Invictus” means “unconquered” and shows the fighting spirit of the wounded, ill, and injured service members and the incredible will they have to overcome adversity. The mission of the Games is to honour and help the men and women who have faced the reality of sacrificing for their country by using the power of rehabilitative sports for recovery.

Team Canada at the Invictus Games

The first Invictus Games were held in London, England, in 2014. A team of 11 athletes from all three service arms, represented Canada in the 2014 Games. Sergeant Renée Bertrand, who served with the 5th Field Ambulance, won silver in the 50-meter women’s breaststroke and retired Army Corporal Luc Martin of Salisbury won a silver medal in compound archery. The second Games were held May 8 to 12, 2016, at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Orlando, Florida. Team Canada finished the event with ten gold medals, eight silver medals and four bronze medals.

The 2017 Invictus Games

Toronto will host the third Games from September 23 to 30. The 2017 Games will feature 11 adaptive sports:

  • archery
  • athletics
  • golf
  • indoor rowing
  • powerlifting
  • road cycling
  • sitting volleyball
  • swimming
  • wheelchair basketball
  • wheelchair tennis
  • wheelchair rugby

There is also a Jaguar Land Rover Driving Challenge.

Competitions will be held in sport venues across the City of Toronto. For more information, read about the Invictus Games Story.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: