Merging Client Records
Once you have used the Name Duplicate tool to get a list of potential duplicate clients, you can then use the Merge Clients tool to fix the record.
When Louise uses the Name Duplicates tool she sees records for Jason Abbott, born 12-01-1945 and Jason Jay, born 01-12-1945. She is familiar with Jason Abbott and knows that he frequently goes by the name Jason Jay and she realizes that someone may have typed the birth date in the wrong order. She sends a Bulletin to all House of Hope and King Street Food Bank HIFIS users, stating that the next time Jason comes in, they should send her a message with his correct name and birth date. The following day, Jason uses the Food Bank and Louise is able to determine the correct information to keep and can then merge the two clients.
Step by Step: Using the Merge Clients tool
- From the Administration menu, select Merge Clients.
- Beside Client 1, use the Select Client to Keep button.
- Select the client file that will be kept from the list, and select the Blue Check Mark button.
- Beside Client 2, use the Select Client to Merge and Discard button.
- Select the client file that you want to merge with Client 1 and select the Blue Check Mark button. Note: Client 2’s record will be permanently deleted once the merge is completed; it is, therefore, very important to ensure that Client 1 and 2 are the same person before completing the merge.
- On the left side of the screen, Client 1’s information is shown in the first column and Client 2’s is shown in the second column. The information highlighted in green will be kept after the merge. Select the correct information to turn it green.
- On the right side of the screen, information linked to each client’s record is shown below their names. You can expand Tree View to see this information by selecting the Plus button beside each client’s name. By default, all information will be kept. If there is information that should not be added to the merged record, press the green checkmark beside the name to remove it.
- Once you are satisfied that the information is correct, use the Merge button.
- When the merge is complete, a pop-up window will appear to confirm that it was completed successfully. Select OK.
- Select the Exit button.
Show me a demonstration about how to merge clients.
- Select Client button
- Blue Check Mark button
- Merge button
- Exit button
Report a problem or mistake on this page
- Date modified: