Sustainable Development Advisory Council

The Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC) is responsible for providing advice to the federal Minister of the Environment and Climate Change on the draft Federal Sustainable Development Strategy. It consists of members of the Canadian public that represent the views of different provinces and territories, Indigenous peoples, as well as environmental non-government organizations and business and labour organizations.

A number of vacancies are currently open to the public, through the online Notice of opportunity. For more information, please contact:

Council members list

Provinces and territories

  • Mark Jaccard, Distinguished Professor and Director, School of Resource and Environmental Management, Simon Fraser University (British Columbia)
  • Ed Ma, Senior Strategy Advisor, Energy and Climate Change Policy, Suncor Energy Inc. (Alberta)
  • Tanis Ostermann, Owner and Principal, CanSustain (Manitoba)
  • Domenic Di Mondo, Vice-President, Technology and Development, GreenMantra (Ontario)
  • Hélène Lauzon, President and CEO, Quebec Business Council on the Environment (Québec)
  • Scott Skinner, President and CEO, Clean Foundation (Nova Scotia)
  • Forest K. Pearson, Geological Engineer (Yukon)
  • 6 vacant positions (Newfoundland and Labrador, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut)

Indigenous Peoples

  • Assembly of First Nations
  • Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami
  • Métis National Council
  • 3 vacant positions

Environmental non-government organizations 

  • Megan Meaney, Executive Director, International Council for Local Environmental Initiatives
  • Barbara Mackinnon, President and CEO, New Brunswick Lung Association
  • 1 vacant position

Business organizations

  • Michael Brooks, CEO, REALPAC 
  • 2 vacant positions

Labour organizations

  • 3 vacant positions


Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: