4.4.3 Student loan systems in Canada

From: Financial Consumer Agency of Canada

In Canada, there are two main types of government student loan programs:

  • the federal program, called the Canada Student Loans Program
  • provincial and territorial programs
    • In four provinces (Ontario, Saskatchewan, Newfoundland and Labrador, and New Brunswick), provincial and federal loans programs are integrated. You apply through your province of residence, and your loan management and repayment are done through a central agency, the National Student Loans Service Centre.
    • The other provinces and territories (except Yukon) offer stand-alone loans programs. You apply to one place to receive your student financial assistance, but receive and manage two separate loans.
    • The student loans and bursaries system in Quebec is completely separate from the federal system. For information, visit the Aide financière aux études website.

To learn more about the loans available in your province (except Quebec), visit the student financial aid website of your province or territory on the Canadian Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators website.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: