Joint Statement in support of the International Criminal Court


“As States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (ICC), we uphold that the Court, its officials and staff shall carry out their professional duties as international civil servants without intimidation. In line with the May 17, 2024, press release of the President of the Assembly of States Parties and the May 3, 2024, statement by the Office of the Prosecutor, we reconfirm our unwavering support for the Court as an independent and impartial judicial institution.

“In this regard, we reiterate our commitment to uphold and defend the principles and values enshrined in the Rome Statute and to preserve its integrity from any political interference and pressure against the Court, its officials and those cooperating with it. We renew our resolve to stand united against impunity.

“The ICC, as the world’s first and only permanent international criminal court, is an essential component of the international peace and security architecture. We therefore call on all States to ensure full cooperation with the Court for it to carry out its important mandate of ensuring equal justice for all victims of genocide, war crimes, crimes against humanity and the crime of aggression; grave crimes that threaten the peace, security and well-being of the world.

“By giving our full support to the ICC and promoting its role, we contribute to ending impunity for such crimes and preventing their recurrence while defending the progress we have made together to guarantee lasting respect for international humanitarian law, human rights, the rule of law and the enforcement of international criminal justice.”

The following countries have endorsed this statement:

Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands,  Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta,  Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, North Macedonia, Norway, Palestinian Authority, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, The Gambia, Timor-Leste, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Uganda, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vanuatu 


Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: