The Digital 9 (D9)

The Digital 9 (D9) is a collaborative network of the world’s leading digital governments.

On this page:

The D9 Charter

D9 members have a common goal of harnessing digital technology to improve citizens’ lives. Countries share world-class digital practices, collaborate to solve common problems, identify improvements to digital services, and support and champion growing digital economies.

The D9 Charter outlines a mutual commitment to digital development and leadership through 9 core principles:

  • user needs
  • open standards
  • open source
  • open markets
  • open government
  • connectivity
  • teach children to code
  • assisted digital
  • commitment to share and learn

Signed in 2018, the charter solidifies our commitment to exploring how digital government can provide services and benefits that citizens want and need.

Member countries

Members meet every year to share knowledge and expertise at working-level and ministerial-level meetings.

Canada’s involvement in the Digital 9

Canada joined the D9 in February 2018 at the Ministerial Summit in Wellington, New Zealand, assuming the role of first D9 Secretariat. Based in Ottawa, the Secretariat works on behalf of all nine members.

Canada participates in the D9 thematic groups on artificial intelligence, digital identity, and data. In November 2019, Canada will take over as D9 Chair for one year. As Chair, Canada will be responsible for steering the group and for hosting the 7th Ministerial Summit.

D9 members are also members of the Open Government Partnership, for which Canada was named co-chair in 2019.


  • December 2014

    • Digital 5 (D5) formed
      • Estonia
      • Israel
      • New Zealand
      • Republic of Korea
      • United Kingdom
    • 1st Ministerial Summit held in London, United Kingdom
    • Adoption of D5 Charter
  • November 2015

    • 2nd Ministerial Conference held in Tallinn, Estonia
  • November 2016

    • 3rd Ministerial Summit held in Busan, Korea
    • Adoption of Busan Declaration
  • February 2018

    • 4th Ministerial Summit held in Wellington, New Zealand
    • Canada and Uruguay join to create Digital 7 (D7)
    • Adoption of D7 Charter
  • November 2018

  • November 2019

    • 6th Ministerial Summit to be held in Montevideo, Uruguay
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: