Natural Health Products Program Advisory Committee Agenda: Meeting #5, June 14 and 15, 2010


The Natural Health Products Directorate (NHPD) has changed its name to the Natural and Non-prescription Health Products Directorate (NNHPD) subsequent to its recently expanded mandate to include the oversight of non-prescription and disinfectant drugs in addition to natural health products (NHPs). Please note that we are currently modifying documents to reflect this change.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.


June 14 and 15, 2010



  • Ms. Paula Brown, British Columbia Institute of Technology
  • Mr. Carl Carter, Canadian Health Food Association
  • Mr. Lawrence Cheng, Chamber of Chinese Herbal Medicine of Canada
  • Ms. Christine Clarke, Best Medicines Coalition
  • Ms. Suzanne Gaudette, Canadian Homeopathic Pharmaceuticals Association
  • Ms. Barbra J Johnston, Nature’s Formulae Health Products Inc.
  • Mr. Michel Caron, National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities
  • Mr. Gary Leong, Jamieson Laboratories Inc.
  • Ms. Shawn O’Reilly, Canadian Association of Naturopathic Doctors
  • Mr. Ron Rosenes, Canadian Treatment Action Council
  • Mr. David Skinner, Consumer Health Products Canada
  • Mr. Ron Smith, Natural Factors Nutritional Products Inc.

Health Canada

  • Ms. Meena Ballantyne, Assistant Deputy Minister, Health Products and Food Branch (HPFB)
  • Ms. Michelle Boudreau, Director General, Natural Health Products Directorate (NHPD)
  • Ms. Diana Dowthwaite, Director General, Health Products and Food Branch Inspectorate (HPFBI)
  • Dr. Chris Turner, Director General, Marketed Health Products Directorate (MHPD)
  • Ms. Nancy Richards, Senior Executive Director, NHPD
  • Ms. Lindsay Blaney, NHPD
  • Mr. Matthew Bown, HPFBI
  • Mr. Don Boyer, NHPD
  • Mr. Daniel Buijs, NHPD
  • Ms. Diane Ciraco, NHPD
  • Dr. Alison Ingham, NHPD
  • Mr. Benjamin Mahon, NHPD
  • Ms. Carol Toone, NHPD
  • Ms. Katherine VanDyk, NHPD
  • Ms. Christine Zaczynski, HPFBI

Day One: June 14, 2010

Item #1
Welcome and Review of the Agenda
Ms. Nancy Richards, NHPD
Item #2
Fungal Enzymes
Ms. Katherine VanDyk, NHPD
Item #3
Standards of Evidence: Issues
Mr. Don Boyer, NHPD
Mr. Daniel Buijs, NHPD
Item #4
NHP PAC Report #1 on Standards of Evidence for Non-traditional Natural Health Products: NHPD Response to the Report Recommendations
Dr. Alison Ingham
Item #5
Natural Health Products Regulations: Security Packaging
Ms. Lindsay Blaney, NHPD
Mr. Benjamin Mahon, NHPD
Item #6
Closing Remarks for Day One
Ms. Nancy Richards, NHPD

Day Two: June 15, 2010

Item #7
Working Group #3 on Compliance and Enforcement
Ms. Suzanne Gaudette, Chair, Working Group #3
Ms. Diana Dowthwaite, HPFBI
Mr. Matthew Bown, HPFBI
Ms. Christine Zaczynski, HPFBI
Item #8
Unlicenced Products Licence Application Regulations: Update
Ms. Michelle Boudreau
Item #9
Inaugural Committee/Year: Feedback from Members
All members
Item #10
Inaugural Committee/Year: Feedback from the Natural Health Products Program
Ms. Meena Ballantyne, HPFB
Ms. Michelle Boudreau, NHPD
Ms. Diana Dowthwaite, HPFBI
Ms. Nancy Richards, NHPD
Dr. Chris Turner, MHPD
Item #11
Closing Remarks for Day Two
Ms. Nancy Richards, NHPD
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: