Executive Summary of the Food Expert Advisory Committee Meeting (FEAC) Teleconference of Thursday, May 24, 2012

Objective of the Meeting

The sixth meeting of the Food Expert Advisory Committee (FEAC), via teleconference, was intended to provide FEAC members with updates on key food safety and nutrition files.

This report follows the order of the meeting agenda and is a summary of the information presented. The list of attendees is provided in Appendix A.

Introduction/Welcoming Remarks

Dr. Keith Mussar, Associate Chair of the FEAC, welcomed members to the meeting and noted that this meeting is intended to share information and address any questions or answers. He thanked members for their hard work and noted that all points of view are respected.

Dr. Samuel Godefroy, Director General, Food Directorate, Health Products and Food Branch (HPFB), Health Canada, expressed appreciation for the work of FEAC members. He noted that the face-to-face meeting that was originally planned for May 24-25, 2012 had to be postponed due to a limited number of agenda items.

Dr. Paul Paquin, Chair of the FEAC, also welcomed members to the meeting. Dr. Paquin mentioned that it was important to have this conference call to allow members to get "back on track". He noted that Drs Paquin, Mussar and Godefroy have a regular conference call every third Friday to ensure continuity. Members were invited to forward any items of interest.

Modernizing the Food Legislative Framework

Mrs. Beth Junkins, Senior Advisor to the Director General, Director General's Office, Food Directorate, provided an update on the Modernization of the Food Legislative Framework proposed changes to the Food and Drugs Act under Bill C38.

Transition of Products at the interface of Food/Natural Health Products (NHPs) to the Food Regulatory Framework

Mr. Anatole Papadopoulos, Director, Bureau of Policy, Regulatory and Governmental Affairs, Food Directorate, provided an update on the transition of products at the interface of food/natural health products to the food regulatory framework, new Food Directorate procedures, timelines and next steps.

Dr. Godefroy recommended that to assist Health Canada with the transition, and to provide advice on larger policy implementation, a separate working group will be created to review the policy and regulatory frameworks for the various categories of products that will transition. A total of six to ten members will be sought within the four sectors represented by FEAC members.

FEAC Secretariat Administrative Updates

Dr. Godefroy mentioned that all members whose terms will be expiring in September 2012 will be automatically renewed, should they consent to such renewal and that the next face-to-face meeting will be held in November 2012. The FD Secretariat will send the invitation next week.

Appendix A: List of Attendees

FEAC Members

  • Dr. Mary Alton Mackey
  • Mr. Herb Barbolet
  • Mr. Josh Brandon
  • Mr. Carl Carter
  • Mr. Albert Chambers
  • Ms. Jackie Crichton
  • Dr. Mansel Griffiths
  • Mr. Nyall Hislop
  • Mr. Mike Horwich
  • Dr. Keith Mussar
  • Dr. Paul Paquin
  • Mr. George Paterson
  • Mrs. Francy Pillo-Blocka
  • Dr. Vijaya Raghavan
  • Dr. David Skinner
  • Dr. Rickey Yada
  • Dr. Norm Campbell

Government Officials

  • Dr. Samuel Godefroy (FEAC Executive Secretary)
  • Anatole Papadopoulos
  • Beth Junkins
  • Denise MacGillivray

FEAC Secretariat

  • Annie Noël
  • Christine Kisbee
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: