Coronavirus disease (COVID-19): Visitors, temporary workers and students

Temporary residents are affected by changes to travel requirements in response to the Omicron variant

If you’re a temporary resident who is outside Canada and who has been in any of the following 10 countries within the last 14 days, you cannot enter Canada right now:

  • Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe

This includes international students and foreign workers.

Find out more about these changes.  

Find out how COVID-19 is affecting you and what to do if you’re a visitor, temporary worker or international student.


What to do if you’re eligible to travel, how to unite with immediate family members, and what to do if your visitor status is expiring

Information for visitors

Temporary workers

How to apply for a work permit, who can enter Canada to work, temporary workers already in Canada, and working without a permit

Information for temporary workers

International students

How to apply for a study permit, who can enter Canada to study, students already in Canada, working as a student, and post-graduation work permits

Information for students

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: