Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot: Communities that can apply


If you want to participate, your community must meet certain criteria. The pilot will launch in a small number of communities. This means your community may not be selected, even if it meets all the criteria.

To be eligible to participate, your community must:

  • have a population of:
  • be in:
    • Alberta
    • British Columbia
    • Manitoba
    • Northwest Territories
    • Nunavut
    • Ontario
    • Saskatchewan
    • Yukon
  • have job opportunities
  • have an economic development plan
  • have a local economic development organization that can manage the pilot for your community
  • be able to settle new immigrants in the community by having or developing:
    • relationships with local or regional immigrant-serving organizations
    • opportunities to connect newcomers with established members of the community, such as through mentoring or networking
    • access to key services like
      • education
      • housing
      • transportation
      • health care

You must also have the support, shown through letters of support, of:

  • the municipality (local leaders) and
  • a local or regional immigrant-serving organization

We encourage communities with French-speaking populations to apply and identify themselves in their application.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: