Pre-removal risk assessment: Who can apply


A Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) officer tells you if you’re eligible. They only check to see if you’re eligible after they start the removal process. They also check to see if the 12-month waiting period applies to you.

In most cases, a 12-month waiting period applies if

  • you abandon or withdraw your refugee claim, or the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) rejects it
  • you abandon or withdraw another PRRA application, or we refuse it
  • the Federal Court refuses your attempt to have your refugee claim or PRRA decision reviewed

If the 12-month waiting period applies, you won’t be eligible to submit a PRRA application until the waiting period is over.

12-month waiting period

You may be eligible for a PRRA before 12 months have passed depending on the situation in your country.

Find out which countries are exempt from this waiting period

If you already made a refugee claim in another country

Canada has an information-sharing arrangement with

If you made a refugee claim in one of these countries, your claim can’t be referred to the IRB. However, you may still be eligible for a PRRA.

Who’s not eligible for a PRRA

You can’t apply for a PRRA if you

Page details

Date modified: