Jordan's Principle

The content of this page is being updated to align with the latest ruling from the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT).

From July 2016 to March 2018, there have been more than 70,000 requests for products, services and supports approved for First Nations children under Jordan's Principle. These include mental health supports, medical equipment, speech therapy, educational supports, and more.

Choose a topic

To request services under Jordan's Principle

If a First Nations child is not receiving the services and supports they need, families are encouraged to contact us:

Support for mental health and wellness

If you need to talk, support is a phone call away. Call the First Nations and Inuit Hope for Wellness Help Line at 1-855-242-3310.

Definition and Key Principles

On May 26, 2017, and amended on November 2, 2017, the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal (CHRT) issued a ruling that included an expanded definition of Jordan's Principle.

As part of the ruling, the CHRT ordered the Government of Canada to post the information below on the web.

"[2] In recognition of Jordan, Jordan's Principle provides that where a government service is available to all other children, but a jurisdictional dispute regarding services to a First Nations child arises between Canada, a province, a territory, or between government departments, the government department of first contact pays for the service and can seek reimbursement from the other government or department after the child has received the service. It is a child-first principle meant to prevent First Nations children from being denied essential public services or experiencing delays in receiving them. On December 12, 2007, the House of Commons unanimously passed a motion that the government should immediately adopt a child-first principle, based on Jordan's Principle, to resolve jurisdictional disputes involving the care of First Nations children."

"[135]…Canada's definition and application of Jordan's Principle shall be based on the following key principles:

  1. Jordan's Principle is a child-first principle that applies equally to all First Nations children, whether resident on or off reserve. It is not limited to First Nations children with disabilities, or those with discrete short-term issues creating critical needs for health and social supports or affecting their activities of daily living.
  2. Jordan's Principle addresses the needs of First Nations children by ensuring there are no gaps in government services to them. It can address, for example, but is not limited to, gaps in such services as mental health, special education, dental, physical therapy, speech therapy, medical equipment and physiotherapy.
  3. When a government service, including a service assessment, is available to all other children, the government department of first contact will pay for the service to a First Nations child, without engaging in administrative case conferencing, policy review, service navigation or any other similar administrative procedure before the recommended service is approved and funding is provided. Canada may only engage in clinical case conferencing with professionals with relevant competence and training before the recommended service is approved and funding is provided to the extent that such consultations are reasonably necessary to determine the requestor's clinical needs. Where professionals with relevant competence and training are already involved in a First Nations child's case, Canada will consult those professionals and will only involve other professionals to the extent that those professionals already involved cannot provide the necessary clinical information. Canada may also consult with the family, First Nation community or service providers to fund services within the timeframes specified in paragraphs 135(2)(A)(ii) and 135(2)(A)(ii.1) where the service is available, and will make every reasonable effort to ensure funding is provided as close to those timeframes where the service is not available. After the recommended service is approved and funding is provided, the government department of first contact can seek reimbursement from another department/government;
  4. When a government service, including a service assessment, is not necessarily available to all other children or is beyond the normative standard of care, the government department of first contact will still evaluate the individual needs of the child to determine if the requested service should be provided to ensure substantive equality in the provision of services to the child, to ensure culturally appropriate services to the child and/or to safeguard the best interests of the child. Where such services are to be provided, the government department of first contact will pay for the provision of the services to the First Nations child, without engaging in administrative case conferencing, policy review, service navigation or any other similar administrative procedure before the recommended service is approved and funding is provided. Clinical case conferencing may be undertaken only for the purpose described in paragraph 135(1)(B)(iii). Canada may also consult with the family, First Nation community or service providers to fund services within the timeframes specified in paragraphs 135(2)(A)(ii) and 135(2)(A)(ii.1) where the service is available, and will make every reasonable effort to ensure funding is provided as close to those timeframes where the service is not available. After the recommended service is provided, the government department of first contact can seek reimbursement from another department/government.
  5. While Jordan's Principle can apply to jurisdictional disputes between governments (i.e., between federal, provincial or territorial governments) and to jurisdictional disputes between departments within the same government, a dispute amongst government departments or between governments is not a necessary requirement for the application of Jordan's Principle."

Regional contacts for requests under Jordan's Principle

Listed below are the regional Jordan's Principle contacts across Canada to help families and children get started. These contacts are Government of Canada employees dedicated to evaluating requests under Jordan's Principle - A Child-First Initiative. They work closely with local Service Coordinators across Canada to ensure First Nations children have access to the services they need without delay.

Indigenous Services Canada

National Office

First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) - Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)

Tracey Hazelwood: 613-952-4646 | tracey.hazelwood@canada.ca

Education and Social Development Programs and Partnerships Sector (ESDPP) - Indigenous Services Canada (ISC)

Laura Mitchell: 819-639-4124 | laura.mitchell@canada.ca

Atlantic

FNIHB - ISC

Robin Boychuk: 902-402-5355 | robin.boychuk@canada.ca 
Benjamin Kaschta: 902-440-4795 | benjamin.kaschta@canada.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Michelle Parsons: 902-661-6353 | Michelle.Parsons@canada.ca
Oona Keagan: 902-661-6349 | oona.keagan@canada.ca

Québec

FNIHB - ISC

Julia Thibeault: 514-283-1903 | Jordan-DGSPNI-FNIHB-Quebec@hc-sc.gc.ca
Philippe Moutquin: 514-283-9711: | Jordan-DGSPNI-FNIHB-Quebec@hc-sc.gc.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Caroline Félix: 418-473-7886 | caroline.felix2@canada.ca
Patrick Verret: 418-473-7886 | patrick.verret@canada.ca

Ontario

FNIHB - ISC

613-618-1833 | ontariojordansprinciple-principlejordanlontario@hc-sc.gc.ca
Vanessa Follon: 613-862-5418 | vanessa.follon@canada.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Farah Dossa: 647-272-6352 | farah.dossa@canada.ca
Taia Tarvainen: 416-952-9593 | taia.tarvainen@canada.ca
Shelley Knott-Fife: 705-768-3547 | shelley.knott-fife@canada.ca

Manitoba

FNIHB - ISC

Joe Gacheru: 204-983-2213 | joe.gacheru@canada.ca
Raymond Jolicoeur: 204-983-1012 | raymond.jolicoeur@canada.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Mary Brown: 204-983-8055 | mary.brown2@canada.ca
BettyAnn Scott: 204-983-0740 | betty-ann.scott@canada.ca

Saskatchewan

FNIHB - ISC

Carmen Bresch: 306-780-7296 | Carmen.bresch@canada.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Randine Akapew: 306-501-2342 | randine.akapew@canada.ca
Wendy Remarchuk: 306-501-4184 | wendy.remarchuk@canada.ca

Alberta

FNIHB - ISC

Katie Kowalski: 780-495-8340 | katie.kowalski@canada.ca

ESDPP - ISC

Angelina Lishingman: 780-246-5056 | angelina.lishingman@canada.ca
Michelle Condrotte: 780-616-8494 | michelle.condrotte@canada.ca

Northern

FNIHB - ISC

1-866-848-5846 | hc.nrjordansprinciple-principedejordanrn.sc@canada.ca
Alisar Ibrahim
Kimberly Lafond

Yukon

ESDPP - ISC

Tammy Bazylinski: 867-667-3356 | tammy.bazylinski@canada.ca
Anna Klee: 867-667-3352 | anna.klee@canada.ca

British Columbia

ESDPP - ISC

Amory Adrian: 778-386-4974 | amory.adrian@canada.ca
William McArthur: 604-317-3548 | william.mcarthur@canada.ca

First Nations Health Authority

The First Nations Health Authority manages health related responsibilities as part of the 2013 British Columbia Tripartite Framework Agreement on First Nations Health Governance.

Kinwa Bluesky: 604-693-6522 | kinwa.bluesky@fnha.ca

For more information

Jordan's Principle Call Centre: 1-855-JP-CHILD (1-855-572-4453)
Email: InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Teletypewriter: 1-866-553-0554

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: