Northern Studies Chairs

Karen J Goodman, PhD
Professor, Department of Medicine & School of Public Health
Centre of Excellence for Gastrointestinal Inflammation & Immunity Research
Division of Gastroenterology
Mail to: 7-142 Katz
Deliveries to: 87 Avenue & 114 Street 
University of Alberta, 
Edmonton AB  T6G 2E1

Cc Trish Fontaine
Cc Anita Dey Nuttall

Tel.: 780-492-1889
karen.goodman@ualberta.ca
Trish.fontaine@ualberta.ca

anitad@ualberta.ca
Tel.: (780) 492-9386

Dr. Heather Duncan
Northern Scientific Training Program Committee
Brandon University
270-18th St.
Brandon MB R7A 6A9

Phone: 204-727-9656
Fax: 204-728-7340
duncanh@brandonu.ca

Dr. Greg Henry
Chairperson
Office of Polar Alpine Research Committee
c/o Sara Yeun
Research Services
102-6190 Agronomy Road
University of British Columbia
VANCOUVER BC  V6T 1Z3

Tel.:  604-822-9244
Fax : 604-822-5093

ghenry@geog.ubc.ca
sara.yuen@ubc.ca

Dr. Kevin Turner
Assistant Professor, Dept. of Geography
Northern Studies Committee
Brock University
1812 Sir Isaac Brock Way
St. Catharines ON L2S 3A1 

phone: 905 688-5550 ext 5399

kturner2@brocku.ca

 

Dr. Patricia Wells
Arctic Institute of North America
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW, ES-1040
Calgary AB T2N 1N4 

phone: 403-220-7516
Fax: 403-282-4609

Patricia.wells@ucalgary.ca

Gita J. Ljubicic, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Carleton University
Dept. of Geography & Environmental Studies
1125 Colonel By Dr., B349 Loeb Building
Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6

Tel.:  613-520-2600, ext. 2566

gita_ljubicic@carleton.ca

Dr. Mark Watson
Chairperson, Northern Studies Committee
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
Concordia University
1455 de Maisonneuve Blvd. West
MONTRÉAL QC H3G 1M8
c/o Shazma Abdulla
Office of Research

Tel.:  514-848-2424 Ext. 2545

mark.watson@concordia.ca
shazma.abdulla@concordia.ca
Tel.:  514-848-2424 Ext. 4886

Sarah (Sally) J. Adamowicz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Graduate Coordinator of Bioinformatics
Biodiversity Institute of Ontario
  & Department of Integrative Biology
University of Guelph
50 Stone Road East
Guelph ON  N1G 2W1

Tel.:  519 824-4120  ext. 53055

sadamowi@uoguelph.ca

research.services@uoguelph.ca
(Patti)

Monique Bernier
Présidente
Comité des études nordiques
Institut national de la recherche scientifique
Centre Eau, Terre & Environnement
490, de la Couronne
QUEBEC QC G1K 9A9

Tel: 418-654‑2585
Fax:418-654‑2600
monique_bernier@ete.inrs.ca
philippe-edwin.belanger@inrs.ca

Pascale Roy-Léveillée, Ph.D.
Assistant
School of Northern and Community Studies
Member of the Cooperative Freshwater Ecology Unit
Laurentian University
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury ON P3E 2C6

Tel.: 705-675-1151 ext. 3365

proyleveillee@laurentian.ca

Christine Barnard
Coordonnatrice scientifique
Centre d’études nordiques (CEN)
Université Laval, Pavillon Abitibi-Price
2405 rue de la Terrasse, local 1216-A
Québec QC G1V 0A6

Tel: 418-656-2131, poste 2503
Fax: 418-656-2334

christine.barnard@cen.ulaval.ca

Dr. Philip P. Bonnaventure
Assistant Professor of Physical Geography
Department of Geography
University of Lethbridge
4401 University Drive
Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada, T1K 3M4
Office: Alberta Water & Environmental Science
Building, Room WE2052

Tel: 403-317-5028

philip.bonnaventure@uleth.ca

Dr. Todd Mondor
Chair, NSTP Committee
A/Vice-Provost (Graduate Education) and Dean of Graduate Studies
c/o Rosemary Visevic
Faculty of Graduate Studies
500 University Centre
University of Manitoba
WINNIPEG MB  R3T 2N2

Tel.: 204-474-8089

Todd.mondor@umanitoba.ca
laura.mcmillan@umanitoba.ca

 

Hans Larsson
Chair, Northern Studies Committee
Redpath Museum
McGill University
859 Sherbrooke St. West
MONTREAL QC H3A 0C4

Tel.:514- 398-4087
Fax: 514 398-3185

hans.ce.larsson@mcgill.ca

Dr. Susan A. Dudley
NSTP Committee on northern Studies
McMaster University
1280 Main Street West
Hamilton ON, L8S 4K1

Tel: 905.525.9140 x 24004
Fax: 905-522-6066

sdudley@mcmaster.ca

 

Dr. Douglas Wharram
Chairperson, NSTP Committee
c/o Research Grant and Contract Services
Bruneau Centre for Research and Innovation, Room IIC2015
230 Elizabeth Ave.
Memorial University of Newfoundland
St. John's, NL A1C 5C7

Tel: 709 864 6918
Fax: 709 864 4612

dwharram@mun.ca

Marie-Andrée Giroux
Chaire de recherche K.-C.-Irving en sciences de l’environnement et développement durable
18, Antonine-Maillet
Université de Moncton
Rémi-Rossignol, Local B-007
Moncton, NB E1A 3E9

 
Tel: 506 858-4152

Marie-andree.giroux@umoncton.ca


Pierre de Coninck
Professeur titulaire 
Faculté de l'aménagement –
École de design
Bureau 1010
Université de Montréal
MONTRÉAL QC  H3C 3J7

Tel.: 514 343-7909

pierre.de.coninck@umontreal.ca 

David Bruce
Director, Office of Research Services
Mount Allison University
213 Centennial Hall
65 York St., Sackville NB  E4L 1E4

Tel.: 506-364-2618
Fax: 506-961-3427

dwbruce@mta.ca

Dr. Heather Major
UNB Northern Studies Committee
UNBSJ Dept. of Biological Sciences
University of New Brunswick
PO Box 5050
SAINT JOHN NB E2L 4L5

Tel: 506-648-5679
Heather.major@unb.ca

Gary Wilson
Chairperson, NSTP Committee
Department of Political Science
UNBC, 3333 University Way
PRINCE GEORGE BC V2N 4Z9

Tel: 250-960-5514
Fax: 250-960-5545

wilsong@unbc.ca

Dr. Luke Copland
Professor
Northern and Native Committee
Department of Geography
University of Ottawa
60 University Rd
OTTAWA, ON K1N 6N5

Tel: 1 613 562 5800  ext.2826
Luke.copland@uottawa.ca

 

Dr. Jim Randall
Chair, Scholarship Committee
c/o Donna Giberson
University of Prince Edward Island
550 University Ave,
Charlottetown PE  C1A 4P3

Tel. 204-566-0405
Fax : 902-566-0740

jrandall@upei.ca

 

Hugo Asselin
Chaire de recherche du Canada en foresterie autochtone
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue
44, Boul. de l’université
Rouyn-Noranda QC  J9X 5E4

Tel.: 819-762-0971 ext. 1070
Fax : 819-797-4727

hugo.asselin@uqat.ca

 

Patrick Evans
Professeur titulaire
Service de la recherche et de la cération
Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
C.P. 8888, Succursale Centre-ville
Montréal QC H3C 3P8

Tel.: 514-987-3000 ext. 3375
Fax : 514-987-3933

evans.patrick@uqam.ca

 

Joël Bêty, Ph.D.
Département de biologie et Centre d’études nordiques
Université du Québec à Rimouski
300 Allée des Ursulines
Rimouski PQ G5L 3A1

Tél.: 418-723-1986 ext. 1701
Fax.: 418-724-1849

joel_bety@uqar.qc.ca


Esther Lévesque
Président
Comité d’études nordiques de l’UQTR
Département de des sciences de l’éducation
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
3351, boul. Des Forges
Case postale 500
TROIS-RIVIÈRES QC G9A 5H7

Tel.: 819-376-5011 ext. 3351
Dept.: 819-376-5053
Fax: 819-376-5084

esther_levesque@uqtr.ca

 


Paul Grogan
Chairperson, NSTP Committee
Biology Department
Room 2508, Biosciences Complex
116 Barrie Street
Queen’s University
KINGSTON ON K7L 3N6

Tel.:  613- 533-6152
Fax: 613-533-6617

grogranp@queensu.ca

 

Dr. David M. Atkinson, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Geography
Ryerson University
350 Victoria Street
Toronto ON  M5B 2K3

(P) 416-979-5000 ext: 2693
(F) 416-979-5362

datkinson@ryerson.ca

David C. Natcher, PhD
Chair, Northern Studies Committee
College of Agriculture and Resource Economics
University of Saskatchewan
51 Campus Drive, Room 3D08
Saskatoon SK S7N 5A8

Tel: 306-966-4045

David.natcher@usask.ca

Alexandre Langlois, Ph.D.
Professeur Adjoint / Assistant Professor
Centre d’Applications et Recherches en Télédétection (CARTEL)
Département de Géomatique Appliquée
Université de Sherbrooke
2500 Blvd. de l’Université
Sherbrooke QC J1K 2R1

Tel.: 819-821-8000 ext. 65690
Fax: 819-821-7944

A.Langlois2@USherbrooke.ca

Dr. David Lank
Chair, Northern Studies Committee
Dept. of Biological Sciences
8888 University Drive
Simon Fraser University
Burnaby BC V5A 1S6

Tel: 778-782-3010
Dept: 778-782-4475

dlank@sfu.ca

 

Dr. Max Friesen
Chairperson
Arctic Working Group
Department of Anthropology
University of Toronto
19 Russell St.
Toronto ON  M5S 2S2

Tel: 416‑978‑4505
Fax 416‑978‑3217

max.friesen@utoronto.ca

Prof. Celine Gueguen
Chairperson
Northern and Polar Studies Committee
Chemistry Dept., Trent University,
1600 Westbank Dr.,
Peterborough ON  K9L 0G2

Tel.:  705-748-1011

celinegueguen@trentu.ca

Dr. Trevor Lantz
Chairperson
Northern Studies Committee
School of Environmental Studies
University of Victoria
VICTORIA BC  V8W 2Y2

Tel.: 250-853-3566

tlantz@uvic.ca

 

Dr. Bryan Grimwood
President’s Committee on Northern Studies
Associate Professor
Department of Geography and Environmental Management
University of Waterloo
200 University Avenue West
Waterloo ON N2L 3G1

Tel.: 519-888-4567 ext. 32612
Fax : 519-746-6776

bgrimwood@uwaterloo.ca

 

Brian Branfireun and Gordon Osinski
Co-Chairs, Northern Studies Committee
Western University
Dept. of Biology, Room 2064
Biology and Geological Sciences Building
1151 Richmond St.
London ON N6A 5B7

Tel.:  519-661-2111 x 89221

bbranfir@uwo.ca
gosinski@uwo.ca

 

Philip Marsh
Laurier Northern Studies Committee
Dept. of Geography and Environmental Studies
Wilfrid Laurier University
75 University Ave.
Waterloo, Ontario  N2L 3C5

Tel.:  519-884-0710 x 2856

pmarsh@wlu.ca

 

Dr. Danny Blair
Chairperson, Northern Studies Committee
A/Dean of Science
The University of Winnipeg
515 Portage Ave.
Winnipeg MB  R3B 2E9

New chair to be named as of July 1st. Sent correspondence to be sent to Jennifer Cleary

Tel.: 204-786-9236

d.blair@uwinnipeg.ca

j.cleary@uwinnipeg.ca

Dr. Oliver P. Love
Chairperson
NSTP Committee
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Windsor
401 Sunset Avenue
WINDSOR ON  N9B 3P4

Tel.: 519-253-3000 ext. 2711
Dept: 519-253-3000 ext. 2697

olove@uwindsor.ca

 

Anna Hudson
Chair, Borealis Council
Associate Professor and York Research Chair
Visual Art and Art History
723 Kaneff Tower
York University
4700 Keele Street
Toronto ON M3J 1P3

Tel.:  416-736-2100 x 77393
ahudson@yorku.ca

 

Amanda Graham
Chairperson, NSTP Committee
Coordinator/Instructor, University of the Arctic
School of Liberal Arts
Applied Arts Division
Yukon College
500 College Drive Box 2799
WHITEHORSE YT  Y1A 5K4

Tel.: 867-668-8773
agraham@yukoncollege.yk.ca

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: