Statement from Minister of Public Services and Procurement Carla Qualtrough on appointments to Canada Post Corporation’s Board of Directors


For immediate release

Gatineau, Quebec, May 4, 2018 – Canada Post is a valued national institution with a vision for renewal based on providing Canadians with high-quality, accessible and affordable service, no matter where they live.

As Minister responsible for the Canada Post Corporation, it is my pleasure to announce today five appointments to the Canada Post Board of Directors. New leadership is key to implementing Canada Post’s renewal.

The new Directors will join the recently appointed Chair of the Board of Directors, Jessica L. McDonald, to oversee the implementation of the government’s vision for Canada Post and its priority of service to Canadians. Critical to renewal is the focus on building more collaborative relationships with employees, communities and other stakeholders.

The individuals appointed today bring extensive and varied experience in labour relations, business, law, e-commerce, marketing and stakeholder relations from across Canada. Their collective expertise will help build Canada Post into an innovative, service-first organization that will continue to be financially sustainable and serve Canadians for decades to come.

The individuals were identified through the Government of Canada’s open, transparent and merit-based selection process to ensure highly qualified candidates are appointed who reflect Canada’s diversity, including gender balance.

The appointments to the Board include:

  • Mr. Lloyd Bryant (Ontario) has 35 years of senior leadership experience in the Canadian information technology sector, with executive experience in technology, stakeholder relationships, e-commerce, logistics and marketing, including as former President and Chief Executive Officer of Hewlett-Packard Canada.
  • Mr. Bernd Christmas (Ontario) is a recognized and accomplished leader in the Indigenous and business communities, known for developing positive economic and transformative change.
  • Ms. Mélanie Dunn (Quebec) is a strong and compelling leader who has significant sales and marketing experience at the executive level, and a strong understanding of technological change and disruption. She is currently the President and Chief Executive Officer of Cossette.
  • Ms. Suromitra Sanatani (Alberta) is an experienced lawyer with a proven track record in both the public and private sectors, including as Vice President at the Canadian Federation of Independent Business in British Columbia and Yukon.
  • Mr. Jim Sinclair (British Columbia) brings a valued labour perspective to the Board. He has served in the British Columbia labour movement for 32 years, most recently as the President of the BC Federation of Labour.


Media Relations
Public Services and Procurement Canada

Follow us on Twitter

Follow us on Facebook

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: