Independent Advisory Board on Eligibility for Journalism Tax Measures

In March 2020, as a result of the tax measures to support Canadian journalism organizations announced in Budget 2019, the Government created the Independent Advisory Board on Eligibility for Journalism Tax Measures (Advisory Board) by way of Order in Council and appointed its first members.


The Advisory Board’s mandate is to provide an independent assessment and make written, non-binding recommendations as to whether an organization meets certain criteria to be designated as a qualified Canadian journalism organization (QCJO). Specifically, whether an organization produces original news content, and regularly employs two or more journalists who deal at arm’s length with the organization in the production of its content.

Board Members

Members of the Advisory Board were selected with consideration given to the linguistic, cultural, and ethnic diversity of the country. The Advisory Board is composed of journalism experts whose experience is drawn from their work as current and retired faculty members from post-secondary journalism schools across Canada, as well as in the journalism industry.

Advisory Board members

Colette Brin – Québec, Quebec (Chairperson)

Colette Brin

Prof. Colette Brin is a Full Professor at Université Laval's Département d'information et de communication and the Director of the Centre d'études sur les médias. Her research and teaching focus on recent and ongoing changes in journalistic practices through policy and organizational initiatives, and more recently on citizens' news practices in digital spaces. She was previously a journalist with La Liberté and Radio-Canada in Manitoba.

Prof. Brin holds a Doctorate of Philosophy in Political Science and a Master of Arts in Public Communications from Université Laval.

Kim Kierans – Halifax, Nova Scotia (Vice-Chairperson)

Kim Kierans

Ms. Kim Kierans is an Inglis professor (emerita) at the University of King’s College and Senior Fellow at Massey College at the University of Toronto. She served as academic Vice-President (2010-2017) and Director of the School of Journalism (2003-2010) at King’s. She also worked as a reporter and news editor at newspapers and the CBC for more than 30 years.

Ms. Kierans was a visiting professor at the Asian Center for Journalism at Ateneo de Manila University (Philippines) for 15 years, and sits on its board. She has conducted journalism training throughout Asia. She is co-author of Asia’s Media Innovators Vol. 2 (2010) and co-editor of The New Journalist: Roles, Skills, and Critical Thinking (2020).

Ms. Kierans holds a Master of Arts in Atlantic Canada Studies from St. Mary's University.

Margo Goodhand – Victoria, British Columbia

Margo Goodhand

Ms. Margo Goodhand is President of the Michener Awards Foundation Board. A former governor of the National Newspaper Awards, Ms. Goodhand was the founding editor of Okanagan Business Magazine, served as the first female editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, and went on to become the editor-in-chief of the Edmonton Journal. She is the author of Runaway Wives and Rogue Feminists (2017 Fernwood Publishing), a history of the women’s shelter network in Canada.

Ms. Goodhand holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in English and Politics from the University of Winnipeg and the designation of Institute of Corporate Directors, Director from the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto (2018). She is also Chair of Our Place Society Board in Victoria, British Columbia.

Linda Hughes – Edmonton, Alberta

Linda Hughes

Ms. Linda Hughes is a retired publisher and President of the Edmonton Journal (1992-2006), and the first woman in Canada to hold the position of publisher of a major newspaper. She has significant experience in the journalism industry having previously held positions such as a reporter, legislature bureau chief, editorial writer, columnist, city editor and editor-in-chief.

Ms. Hughes served on the Board of Directors of the Torstar Corporation (2011 to 2020) as a member and Lead Director. She was also Chancellor of the University of Alberta (2008 to 2012), Chair of the Board of Alberta Health Services (2015-2019), and served as Chair of the National Newspaper Awards.

Ms. Hughes holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in History and Economics from the University of Victoria and attended the University of Toronto’s Massey College on a William Southam Journalism Fellowship. She was appointed to the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2016 and is a recipient of the Alberta Centennial Medal and the 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada Medal.

Robert Cox – Winnipeg, Manitoba

Robert Cox

Mr. Bob Cox is a retired news executive living in Winnipeg. He served as publisher of the Winnipeg Free Press (2007 to 2023) and as chair of News Media Canada (2014 to 2021). He has a 40-year career in Canadian newsrooms, including time as editor of the Winnipeg Free Press, national editor of the Globe and Mail, parliamentary correspondent for the Canadian Press in Ottawa and city editor of the Edmonton Journal. He has extensive experience in written journalism, newsroom operations and business operations of news organizations.

Mr. Cox is a graduate from Carleton University’s journalism program. He currently serves as the returning officer for the federal electoral district of Winnipeg North as well as chair of The Convalescent Home of Winnipeg, a not-for-profit long-term care facility.

Annual reports

Independent Advisory Board on Eligibility for Journalism Tax Measures - Annual Report 2022-2023

Independent Advisory Board on Eligibility for Journalism Tax Measures - Annual Report 2021-2022

Independent Advisory Board on Eligibility for Journalism Tax Measures - Annual Report 2020-2021

Related Links

Advisory Board appointment opportunities

Order in Council

Guidance on the income tax measures to support journalism

Page details

Date modified: