Consultative committee

The consultative committee is made up of a tax professionals and representatives of various communities and organizations. The committee has a wealth of experience and offers a valuable perspective on the service and fairness issues that can arise between taxpayers and the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). It provides ongoing and timely advice to the Taxpayers’ Ombudsman regarding trends in the relationship between the taxpayer and the CRA. The committee meets quarterly to:

  • share observations from their interactions with the CRA and the issues their clients face;
  • offer strategic advice on potential systemic issues;
  • assist in identifying stakeholder-specific outreach opportunities; and
  • provide feedback on operational and communication strategies.

The current members of the committee are as follows:

Caroline Bouchard (Montréal, QC)

Caroline is a lawyer and international development specialist who has been an Executive Director for several NPOs. Since 2013, she has held the position of Public Affairs and Government Relations Advisor to the FADOQ Network based in Montreal, the largest network of people aged 50 and over in Canada, with 500,000 members. Her work focuses on tackling issues that affect the rights of seniors, including the abolition of ancillary costs, the maintenance of the Age amount tax credit, and the prioritization of home care and services. She also participates in the United Nations Open Ended Working Group on Aging, working on the development of an international convention on the rights of seniors.

Corinne Pohlmann (Ottawa, ON)

Corinne is Senior Vice-President, National Affairs and Partnerships for the Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB), a not-for-profit organization representing more than 109,000 small and medium-sized businesses across Canada. Corinne is based in Ottawa and is responsible for managing CFIB’s strategic direction on national affairs, and sensitizing governments to the needs of Canada’s independent businesses. In addition to her federal legislative responsibilities, Corinne also oversees CFIB’s Economics function, Products and Partnerships division, including Strategic Relationships, CFIB’s Atlantic Canada legislative team and a number of major marketing initiatives.

Daniel Woodin (Halifax, NS)

Daniel is a retired executive from the Canada Revenue Agency. During his 33 years of service, he worked in the Ontario and Atlantic regions and occupied various positions which included Director of the Summerside Tax Centre in Prince Edward Island (PEI) and Director of the Belleville/Kingston Tax Services Office in Ontario. In addition, he is the former Vice-Chair of the PEI Federal Council, as well as the former President of the Certified General Accountants of PEI. Daniel holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from Dalhousie University and accounting designations as a Chartered Professional Accountant and Certified General Accountant.

Ed Kroft (Toronto, ON)

Ed is a lawyer and Partner in the law firm of Blake, Cassels & Graydon. He is a leader of Blake’s Tax Controversy and Litigation Group. He has appeared on behalf of clients before the Supreme Court of Canada, the Tax Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Appeals, and the Supreme Court of British Columbia. Ed has represented clients frequently in tax disputes involving the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) and other tax authorities. He is involved in negotiations with “Competent Authority” in major transfer pricing disputes and has been, and continues to be involved in a number of tax cases for major Canadian and multinational corporations. He is a member of the Bar in British Columbia, Alberta, and Ontario. Ed is the President of the Royal Philatelic Society of Canada.

Gabriel Beaudet (Québec City, QC)

Gabriel is a graduate of the University of Sherbrooke and currently studying at l’école du Barreau du Québec. He participated in the Laskin moot court competition in 2016, and won the second place at the 2017 Tax Symposium of Laval University. Gabriel intends to bring to the Committee the point of view of a younger member, as well as that of an Indigenous person (Huron Wendat) and Quebecer.

George Lessard (Yellowknife, NT)

George is a communications and media specialist. He is the owner and founder of The Media Mentor. He has helped several people in Canada and abroad learn how to use both traditional and new media, notably in Nunavut, the Northwest Territories, Orissa (India), Urals (Russia), Rwanda, Beijing (China), and the Bahamas. After experiencing poverty first-hand and learning to survive and succeed, he became a member of the Canada Without Poverty Board of Directors for the Northwest Territories.

Gillian Mason(Toronto, ON)

Gillian is the recent Past-President of ABC Life Literacy Canada. Previously, she served as the Senior Vice-President of Strategic Initiatives and Community Partnerships for United Way Toronto and as the Vice-President of the Canadian Urban Institute. In addition, Gillian has been involved in other organizations, such as the co-founder and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Commonwealth Association for Public Administration and Management, an international membership association of senior public officials.

Mack Rogers (Toronto, ON)

Mack is the Director of Programs for ABC Life Literacy Canada. Mack works with a team of educators, programmers, and coordinators to develop and share financial, health, civic, family, and workplace literacy programs to communities across the country. A teacher and curriculum builder, Mack has been developing educational programs for adults and children for over 15 years, with the last 6 years at ABC Life Literacy Canada. Mack is a long-serving volunteer, currently serving as Board Chair for Volunteer Toronto and as an active Board member of his local library. Mack is currently acting as the team lead for ABC Life Literacy Canada.

Tony Dolan (Charlottetown, PE)

Tony is the Past-National Chairperson of the Council of Canadians with Disabilities. He is a member of the Canadian Council of Rehab and Work and the Canadian Mental Health Association Board. In addition, he is the co-founder and the Past-Chairperson of the Prince Edward Island division of the Canadian Paraplegic Association and the Past-President for its national board. Previously, Tony served as the National Manager for Training and Development at Veterans Affairs Canada.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: