How government works

Canada is a democratic constitutional monarchy, with a Sovereign as head of State and an elected Prime Minister as head of Government.

Canada has a federal system of parliamentary government, where federal, provincial and territorial governments share government responsibilities and functions.

The Monarchy and the executive, legislative and judicial branches of Government carry out federal responsibilities.

Constitutional monarchy

Date modified: