Minister Bibeau announces appointments and reappointments to Farm Credit Canada

News release

Today, the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, the Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, announced three appointments and two reappointments to Farm Credit Canada’s (FCC) Board of Directors. These individuals have extensive backgrounds in agriculture and are active members in their communities.

  • James Laws – reappointed to a three-year term
  • Michele Hengen – reappointed to a three-year term
  • Rita Achrekar – appointed to a four-year term
  • Sylvie Chagnon – appointed to a four-year term
  • Michael Tees – appointed to a four-year term 

In 2016, the Government of Canada implemented an open, transparent and merit-based process for selecting Governor in Council appointees. Appointees play a fundamental role in Canada’s democracy by serving on commissions, boards, Crown corporations, agencies and tribunals across the country. 


“Farm Credit Canada is a trusted, knowledgeable financial partner for our hard working farmers. It plays a vital role by providing specialized products and services that help agricultural businesses grow, take advantage of new market opportunities, and innovate. I have no doubt that these highly qualified Canadians will assist the organization in ensuring the long-term viability of the sector.”

- The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Quick facts

  • The appointments and reappointments announced today are effective May 21, 2021.

  • Farm Credit Canada is Canada’s leading agriculture and food lender, with a loan portfolio of more than $41 billion. The Crown corporation provides flexible, competitively priced financing, management software, information, and knowledge specifically designed for the agriculture and food industries. 

  • Farm Credit Canada is Canada's largest provider of business and financial services to producers, agribusinesses and agri-food operations, with close to 100,000 customers serviced by 99 locations across Canada.

Related products

Associated links


Jean-Sébastien Comeau
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food

Media Relations
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
Follow us on Twitter: @AAFC_Canada
Like us on Facebook: CanadianAgriculture

Page details

Date modified: