Finance Minister Announces Appointments to Royal Canadian Mint Board of Directors

News Release

November 3, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to an open, transparent and merit-based selection process for Governor in Council appointments that serve the interests of Canadians.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointments of four directors to the Board of Directors of the Royal Canadian Mint including Serge Falardeau; Cybele A. Negris; Deborah S. Trudeau; and Victor L. Young, O.C.

Serge Falardeau has several years of experience as Chief Executive Officer for various manufacturing and service companies with national and international business operations. Mr. Falardeau is a Certified Corporate Director and also holds a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration from Laval University and is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA). Mr. Falardeau has also been a board member of PH Tech Inc., Texel Inc., ADS Composite Materials Group and Bocenor BF Group Inc. Mr. Falardeau's appointment is for a term of four years.

Cybele Negris is CEO and Co-Founder of Inc., an Internet solutions company. Ms. Negris serves on the BC Premier's Technology Council, is vice-chair of the Small Business Roundtable of BC, and on the Chair's council for Science World. She has been the recipient of Canada's Top 100 Most Powerful Women 2011, 2012, 2014, and in 2015 was inducted into its Hall of Fame. Ms. Negris' appointment is for a term of four years.

Deborah Shannon Trudeau has worked at Trudeau Corporation for over 30 years where she is Vice-President of International Business and Licensing. Ms. Trudeau is the Vice President of the Board of the Foundation of Greater Montreal, and sits on the board of St. Mary's Hospital Foundation, the Board of Governors of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal, and the International Women's Forum where she is the Chair of the Development Committee. Ms. Trudeau's appointment is for a term of four years.

Victor L. Young has an extensive career in both government and the private sector, including as Director of several public and privately owned corporations. Mr. Young has an honourary degree from Memorial University, is an Officer of the Order of Canada, member of the Newfoundland and Labrador Business Hall of Fame, a recipient of the Paul Harris (Rotary) Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as of other honours. Mr. Young's appointment is for a term of three years.


"All four of our appointees have impressive track records in their respective fields. I am certain that they will be successful in their role at the Royal Canadian Mint and offer them my congratulations."

Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick Facts

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is a Crown corporation responsible for the minting and distribution of Canada's circulation coins.

  • The Royal Canadian Mint is recognized as one of the largest and most versatile mints in the world, offering a wide range of specialized, high quality coinage products and related services on an international scale.

Associated Links


Media may contact:

Chloé Luciani-Girouard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Finance 

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada

General enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: