Biographical Notes of the Board of Canada Pension Plan Investments


Dean A. Connor was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of Sun Life Financial on December 1, 2011, and is a member of the company's Board of Directors.

Mr. Connor joined Sun Life in 2006 and held a series of roles prior to his current appointment, including head of Sun Life's Canadian Operations, and Chief Operating Officer. Mr. Connor joined Sun Life following 28 years at Mercer Human Resource Consulting, where he rose to be President for the Americas.

Mr. Connor serves on the board of the Business Council of Canada, as a Trustee for the University Health Network in Toronto, and as a member of the Ivey Advisory Board and the Asia Business Leaders Advisory Council. He also chaired the 2017 United Way campaign for Toronto and York Region, and Toronto Rehabilitation Institute's 'Making Incredible Happen' campaign.

Mr. Connor is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and the Canadian Institute of Actuaries. He holds an Honours Business Administration (HBA) from the Ivey Business School at Western University. Mr. Connor was named Canada's Outstanding CEO of the Year for 2017, Ivey's Business Leader of the Year for 2018, and one of the Best-Performing CEOs in the World, 2019, by the Harvard Business Review.

Barry Perry is an accomplished leader with more than 30 years of experience in utilities, paper manufacturing, and oil refining. Prior to his retirement, Mr. Perry spent 20 years with Fortis Inc. where he served as Vice President of Finance and Chief Financial Officer for a decade and as President and Chief Executive Officer from 2015 through his retirement at the end of 2020.

Prior to his retirement, Mr. Perry served on the board of Fortis Inc. and spent several years as a Board Director at Fortis utilities FortisBC, UNS Energy, ITC, Newfoundland Power, FortisAlberta, FortisOntario, Maritime Electric Company and Fortis Properties. He recently served as chair of the Edison Electric Institute's ("EEI") International Programs Trans-Atlantic Regional Advisory Committee and as Co-chair of EEI's CEO Policy Committee on Energy Delivery.

Prior to his roles at Fortis Inc., Mr. Perry served as Vice President of Finance and CFO of Newfoundland Power, Vice President and Treasurer of newsprint manufacturer Abitibi-Consolidated and Corporate Controller of Newfoundland Processing Limited. In March 2021, Mr. Perry was appointed to the Board of Directors of Capital Power Corporation.

He holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland, is an Ernst and Young Alumni, and a member of the Association of Chartered Professional Accountants of Newfoundland and Labrador.

Tahira Hassan has served on the Board of Directors of CPP Investments since February 2015.

Ms. Hassan currently serves as a Non-Executive Director on the Corporate Board of Brambles Limited. She also volunteers as a Director of the Board of Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences.

Ms. Hassan is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants of UK (1979), a Certified Management Accountant of Canada (1983), and a Chartered Global Management Accountant (2012). She has completed several professional development courses including at University of Western Ontario, IMD-Switzerland, and London Business School-UK.

Chuck Magro has served on the Board of Directors of CPP Investments since July 2018.

He was President and Chief Executive Officer of Nutrien Ltd until April 2021. He was previously President and Chief Executive Officer of Agrium, which he joined in 2009. Other key leadership roles he held at Agrium include Chief Operating Officer and Executive Vice-President; Chief Risk Officer and Executive Vice President of Corporate Development; and Vice-President, Manufacturing. He joined Agrium following a productive career with NOVA Chemicals.

Mr. Magro plays an active role on the boards of the International Fertilizer Association and the International Plant Nutrition Institute. He also serves as chair of Canpotex Limited, The Fertilizer Institute, and the Nutrients for Life Foundation.

Mr. Magro holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Chemical Engineering) from the University of Waterloo and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Windsor.

Sylvia Chrominska has served on the Board of Directors of CPP Investments since September 2018.

She currently serves on the Board of Directors and as Chair of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee of Wajax Inc., as an ex officio member of the board of the Stratford Festival.

She has previously served as Chair of the Boards of Scotiabank Jamaica and Scotiabank Trinidad & Tobago; as Director and Chair of the Management Resources and Compensation Committee of Emera Inc.; as Director and Chair of the Human Resources Committee of Dofasco Inc.; and as the Chair of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Bankers Association.

She has also previously served on the Board of the University of Western Ontario and the Dean's Advisory Committee of the Richard Ivey Business School; as former member and Honorary Fellow of the Advisory Council for Dalhousie University; a former Chair of the International Women's Forum; and a former member and Vice President of the Canadian Club of Toronto.

Ms. Chrominska holds an Honours Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration and an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Western Ontario.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: