Finance Canada Payments Consultative Committee

Members of FinPay Committee
Name Title Organization
Isabelle Jacques (Chair) Assistant Deputy Minister Department of Finance
Ron Morrow Executive Director, Retail Payments Supervision Bank of Canada
Judith Robertson Commissioner Financial Consumer Agency of Canada
Tracey Black President and CEO Payments Canada
Anthony G. Ostler President and CEO Canadian Bankers Association
Two representatives from CBA member institutions*
Alex Vronces Executive Director PayTechs of Canada
Martha Durdin President and CEO Canadian Credit Union Association
Patrice Dagenais V.P. Payment Services and Business Partnerships Desjardins
Kirkland Morris V.P. Enterprise Strategy Interac
Sasha Krstic President, Canadian Operations MasterCard Canada
Stacey Madge President and Country Manager Visa Canada
David Berube Executive Director, Business Management Chase Paymentech
Jason Young Head, Legal PayPal Canada
Lisa Shields President and CEO FI.SPAN
John Zajic V.P. Trust Operations TelPay
William Piggott V.P. Banking ADP Canada
Laurence Cooke CEO NanoPay
Dan Kelly President and CEO Canadian Federation of Independent Business
Diane Brisebois President and CEO Retail Council of Canada
Grace Jung Head Industry Relations, Payments & Operations Square
Stephen Frank V.P. Policy Development and Health Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association
Don Mercer President and CEO Consumer Council of Canada
Sue Britton   Independent
Kernaghan Webb Independent
Ron Matthews Independent

* Two rotating seats are reserved for a member institution, which are chosen by the CBA
** Intention is to always have one acquirer representative on the committee, with the representative rotating every two years amongst the acquirers.
*** Intention is to always have two consumer group representatives on the committee, with the representatives rotating every two years amongst consumer groups.

FinPay (or the Committee) is a forum of public and private sector representatives to discuss industry level developments in the Canadian payments system.

FinPay’s mandate is to:

Working groups may be established under FinPay as appropriate to further these objectives.

FinPay is chaired by the Assistant Deputy Minister, Financial Sector Policy Branch, Finance Canada.

Membership of FinPay is determined by Finance Canada and includes stakeholders from the public and private sectors, representing established payments industry players, newer entrants, corporate users, merchants and consumers. There is a mix of permanent and renewable term members. For permanent member organizations, individual representatives may change but members should seek to promote some continuity in their representation. For the renewable term positions, efforts should be made to stagger appointments so that annual turnover in membership will be no more than one third of the group.

The Committee may also draw from time to time on experts from the industry to inform the dialogue on select issues. Experts may be invited to meetings on an ad hoc basis.

FinPay meets no less frequently than bi-annually. The frequency of meetings may be adjusted as necessary.

Finance Canada is present at all Committee and any working group meetings and performs the secretariat duties for FinPay. Finance Canada distributes meeting materials to members two weeks in advance of each meeting.

Minutes of meetings are taken on a non-attribution basis and made available to all members. The recorded proceedings of this Committee could be subject to Access to Information requests.

Finance Canada does not ask members to share commercially sensitive information with the Committee, and will foreclose any discussions among members on this topic.

Each meeting begins with a tour de table. Members are encouraged to raise issues that should be considered by the Committee at future meetings.

Members are invited to provide input (submissions, comments, etc.) to Finance Canada at any time on payments-related issues.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: