Statement on a joint coalition on F-16 training of the Ukrainian Air Force


July 11, 2023 – Ottawa, ON – National Defence / Canadian Armed Forces

The Ministers of Defence of Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden and the United Kingdom share the conviction that continued support to Ukraine is of utmost importance in the light of Russia’s brutal and unprovoked aggression.

The parties agree that in order to assist Ukraine in the defence of its airspace, they will establish a joint coalition on training of the Ukrainian Air Force in operating and maintaining F-16 fighter aircraft, in accordance with the necessary authorizations and with the possibility to include other types of fighter aircraft at a later stage.

The parties agree to commence training of relevant Ukrainian pilots, technicians and support staff, which will provide the Ukrainian Air Force with basic capabilities of operating, servicing and maintaining F-16 fighter aircraft. This includes making relevant equipment, trainers and other staff available for such training. All training activities will be conducted outside of Ukraine.

The coalition’s focus will be on training, but will also in due course be ready to consider other lines of effort related to ensuring Ukraine a fully functional F-16 capability.

Ludivine Dedonder
Minister of Defence

Anita Anand
Minister of Defence

Troels Lund Poulsen
Minister of Defence

François Bausch
Minister of Defence

Kajsa Ollongren
Minister of Defence
the Netherlands

Bjørn Arild Gram
Minister of Defence

Mariusz Błaszczak
Minister of Defence

Helena Carreiras
Minister of Defence

Angel Tîlvăr
Minister of Defence

Pål Jonson
Minister of Defence

Ben Wallace
Minister of Defence
the United Kingdom

Search for related information by keyword: MI Military | National Defence | Canada | National security and defence | general public | statements

Page details

Date modified: