Cross of Valour (CV)

The official description, eligibility, criteria, and history of the Cross of Valour (CV).

Cross of Valour (CV)


Created in 1972, the Cross of Valour recognizes acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

This honour is administered by the Chancellery of Honours at Rideau Hall.

Military nominations shall be processed through the chain of command in accordance with A-DH-300-000/AG-001 ā€“ Canadian Forces Honours Policy Manual.


The Cross of Valour is a gold cross of four equal limbs: the obverse of which is enameled red and edged in gold with, superimposed in the centre, a gold maple leaf surrounded by a gold wreath of laurel; and on the reverse of which the Royal Cypher and the inscription VALOUR / VAILLANCE appear.

The ribbon is light crimson and measures 38 mm in width.


Each subsequent award of the Cross shall be indicated by a gold maple leaf mounted to the 20 mm straight suspender.


The Cross shall be worn in sequence, as prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner: worn around the neck, suspended from the ribbon described above.


Recipients are entitled to the use of the post-nominal letters ā€œCVā€.

Historical notes

To date, only 20 Crosses of Valour have been awarded.

Page details

Date modified: