Medal of Bravery (MB)

The official description, eligibility, criteria, and history of the Medal of Bravery (MB).

Medal of Bravery (MB)

Medal of Bravery (MB)


Created in 1972, the Medal of Bravery recognizes acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.

This honour is administered by the Chancellery of Honours at Rideau Hall.

Military nominations shall be processed through the chain of command in accordance with A-DH-300-000/AG-001 – Canadian Forces Honours Policy Manual.


It is a circular silver medal: on the obverse of which is a maple leaf surrounded by a wreath of laurel, and on the reverse of which the Royal Cypher and the inscription BRAVERY / BRAVOURE appear.

The ribbon is 32 mm in width, light crimson with three 3 mm blue stripes, one in the centre and two set 2 mm from the edges.


Each subsequent award of the Medal shall be indicated by a silver bar bearing a maple leaf.


The Medal of Bravery shall be worn in the sequence prescribed in the Canadian Orders, Decorations and Medals Directive, and in the following manner: worn on the left breast, suspended from the ribbon described above.

A bar is worn centred on the ribbon. If multiple bars have been awarded, they shall be evenly spaced on the ribbon.

The award of each bar to the Medal is denoted by the wearing of a small silver maple leaf device on the undress ribbon.


Recipients are entitled to the use of the post-nominal letters “MB”.

Historical notes

To date, 3,300 Medals of Bravery have been awarded.

Page details

Date modified: