Diplomatic appointments

News Release

July 19, 2016 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Minister of Foreign Affairs, today announced the following diplomatic appointments.

These appointments reflect the Government of Canada’s commitment to ensure its diplomatic leaders represent a wide diversity of Canadians and include a greater gender representation.

Donald Bobiash becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Colombia. Mr. Bobiash replaces Carmen Sylvain.

Ian Burney becomes Ambassador to Japan. Mr. Burney replaces Mackenzie Clugston.

Perry Calderwood becomes High Commissioner to the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Mr. Calderwood replaces Heather Cruden.

Heather Cameron becomes High Commissioner to the Republic of Ghana. Ms. Cameron replaces Christopher Thornley.

Janice Charette becomes High Commissioner to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. Ms. Charette replaces Gordon Campbell.

Antoine Chevrier becomes High Commissioner to the Republic of Mozambique. Mr. Chevrier replaces Shawn Barber.

Chris Cooter becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey. Mr. Cooter replaces John Holmes.

Jennifer Daubeny becomes Consul General in Bangalore (Republic of India). Ms. Daubeny replaces Sidney Frank.

Lise Filiatrault becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Senegal. Ms. Filiatrault replaces Philippe Beaulne.

Emi Furuya becomes Ambassador to the Kingdom of Denmark. Ms. Furuya replaces André-François Giroux.

Carla Hogan Rufelds becomes High Commissioner to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Ms. Hogan Rufelds replaces Gérard Latulippe.

Masud Husain becomes Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates. Mr. Husain replaces Arif Lalani.

Ping Kitnikone becomes Ambassador to the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. Ms. Kitnikone replaces David Devine.

Marie Legault becomes High Commissioner to Barbados. Ms. Legault replaces Richard Hanley.

Matthew Levin becomes Ambassador to the Kingdom of Spain. Mr. Levin replaces Jon Allen.

Deborah Lyons becomes Ambassador to the State of Israel. Ms. Lyons replaces Vivian Bercovici.

Peter MacDougall becomes Ambassador to the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan. Mr. MacDougall replaces Bruno Saccomani.

Ian Myles becomes High Commissioner to the United Republic of Tanzania. Mr. Myles replaces Alexandre Lévêque.

Jeff Nankivell becomes Consul General in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (People’s Republic of China). Mr. Nankivell replaces Ian (James) Burchett.

Olivier Nicoloff becomes Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium. Mr. Nicoloff replaces Denis Robert.

Patrick Parisot becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Cuba. Mr. Parisot replaces Yves Gagnon.

Donica Pottie becomes Ambassador to the Kingdom of Thailand. Ms. Pottie replaces Philip Calvert.

Isabelle Poupart becomes Ambassador to Hungary. Ms. Poupart replaces Lisa Helfand.

Barbara Richardson becomes Ambassador to the Czech Republic. Ms. Richardson replaces Otto Jelinek.

Ulric Shannon becomes Consul General in Istanbul (Republic of Turkey). Mr. Shannon replaces Andrew Smith.

Phyllis Yaffe becomes Consul General in New York (United States of America). Ms. Yaffe replaces John (Giovanni) Prato.

Related products


Chantal Gagnon
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Follow Minister Dion on Twitter: @MinCanadaFA
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Search for related information by keyword

Hon. Stéphane Dion Global Affairs Canada Government and Politics

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: