The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development


Building on the progress made by the Millennium Development Goals between 2000 and 2015, the 2030 Agenda sets 17 Sustainable Development Goals, or SDGs, to eradicate poverty, end hunger, protect the planet and ensure prosperity by the year 2030. The SDGs apply to every country.

Goal 1: No poverty
End poverty in all its forms everywhere.

Goal 2: Zero hunger
End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition and promote sustainable agriculture.

Goal 3: Good health and well-being for people
Ensure healthy lives and promote well-being for all at all ages.

Goal 4: Quality education
Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

Goal 5: Gender equality
Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

Goal 6: Clean water and sanitation
Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

Goal 7: Affordable and clean energy
Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable and modern energy for all.

Goal 8: Decent work and economic growth
Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment and decent work for all.

Goal 9: Industry, innovation and infrastructure
Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization and foster innovation.

Goal 10: Reduced inequalities
Reduce income inequality within and among countries.

Goal 11: Sustainable cities and communities
Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable.

Goal 12: Responsible consumption and production
Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

Goal 13: Climate action
Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts by regulating emissions and promoting developments in renewable energy.

Goal 14: Life below water
Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development.

Goal 15: Life on land
Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification; halt and reverse land degradation; and halt biodiversity loss.

Goal 16: Peace, justice and strong institutions
Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all; and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

Goal 17: Partnerships for the goals
Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

While all ministers, federal departments and agencies will support the implementation of the SDGs, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau has tasked eight ministers to champion the advancement of the 2030 Agenda:

  • The Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development
  • The Honourable Carolyn Bennett, Minister of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs
  • The Honourable Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of International Development and La Francophonie
  • The Honourable Jean-Yves Duclos, Minister of Families, Children and Social Development
  • The Honourable Patricia Hajdu, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour
  • The Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change
  • The Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister of Status of Women
  • The Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Indigenous Services

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: