Announcement of new diplomatic appointments

News release

October 24, 2019 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

The Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs, today announced the following diplomatic appointments:

Caroline Charette becomes Ambassador to Hungary. Ms. Charette replaces Isabelle Poupart.

Marcy Grossman becomes Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates. Ms. Grossman replaces Masud Husain.

Karolina Guay becomes Ambassador to the Republic of El Salvador. Ms. Guay replaces Maryse Guilbeault.

Catherine Ivkoff becomes Ambassador to Mongolia. Ms. Ivkoff replaces David Sproule.

François Lafrenière becomes Ambassador to the Republic of the Union of Myanmar. Mr. Lafrenière replaces Karen MacArthur.

Alison LeClaire becomes Ambassador to the Russian Federation. Ms. LeClaire replaces John Kur.

Jean-Philippe Linteau becomes Consul General in Dubai (United Arab Emirates). Mr. Linteau replaces Marcy Grossman.

Cameron MacKay becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Indonesia. Mr. MacKay replaces Peter MacArthur.

David Murphy becomes Consul General in Shanghai (People’s Republic of China). Mr. Murphy replaces Weldon Epp.

Douglas Scott Proudfoot becomes Ambassador to the Republic of South Sudan. Mr. Proudfoot replaces James Christoff.

Philippe Rheault becomes Consul General in Guangzhou (People’s Republic of China). Mr. Rheault replaces Rachael Bedlington.

Ulric Shannon becomes Ambassador to the Republic of Iraq. Mr. Shannon replaces Paul Gibbard.

Nell Stewart becomes Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco. Ms. Stewart replaces Nathalie Dubé.

Christopher Wilkie becomes Ambassador to the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria. Mr. Wilkie replaces Patricia McCullagh.

Related products


Adam Austen
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: