Announcement of new diplomatic appointments

News release

October 17, 2020 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

The Honourable François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs, today announced the following diplomatic appointments:

Ailish Johnson Campbell to be Ambassador to the European Union, in Brussels. Ms. Johnson Campbell replaces Daniel Costello.

Natasha Cayer becomes Ambassador and Permanent Delegate of Canada to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in Paris. Ms. Cayer replaces Elaine Ayotte.

Jenny Hill becomes Ambassador to the Republic of South Sudan. Ms. Hill replaces Douglas Scott Proudfoot.

Jocelyn Kinnear becomes Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, in Vienna. Ms. Kinnear replaces Natasha Cayer.

Reid Sirrs becomes Ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan. Mr. Sirrs replaces David Metcalfe.      

Related products


Syrine Khoury
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: