Myanmar sanctions


Effective February 18, 2021, Canada is imposing sanctions against the following officials in relation to the coup d’état perpetrated by the Myanmar Armed Forces.

Canadian measures

The Special Economic Measures (Burma) Regulations impose on listed individuals a prohibition on dealings (effectively an asset freeze) by prohibiting persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada from dealing in any property of these individuals or providing financial or related services to them.

The specific prohibitions are set out in the regulations.

The names of the individuals added to the schedule of these regulations are:

  • Min Aung Hlaing
  • Soe Win
  • Sein Win
  • Soe Htut
  • Ye Aung
  • Mya Tun Oo
  • Tin Aung San
  • Aung Lin Dwe
  • Ye Win Oo

Page details

Date modified: