Backgrounder ­­­­- Sanctions related to Belarus


Effective immediately, Canada is imposing sanctions against Belarusian officials and entities in response to gross and systematic human rights violations that have been committed in Belarus.

The Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations impose on listed persons a prohibition on any transaction (effectively, an asset freeze) by prohibiting persons in Canada, and Canadians outside of Canada, from engaging in any activity related to any property of these listed persons or providing financial or related services to them. The individuals listed in the schedule to the regulations are also rendered inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The specific prohibitions are set out in the regulations.

The names of the individuals and entities that have been added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:


  • Aleksey Nikolayevich Avramenko
  • Leonid Nikolayevich Churo
  • Oleg Sergeyevich Gaidukevich
  • Igor Vladimirovich Golub
  • Andrey Nikolayevich Gurtsevich
  • Valeriy Valeryevich Ivankovich
  • Nikolay Nikolayevich Karpenkov
  • Viktor Gennadyevich Khrenin
  • Igor Vladimirovitch Lutsky
  • Aleksey Oleksin
  • Maxim Vladimirovich Ryzhenkov
  • Andrey Ivanovich Shved
  • Artem Igorevich Sikorsky
  • Nikolay Nikolayevich Vorobei
  • Aleksandr Vladimirovich Vasiliuk
  • Aleksandr Nikolayevich Zaitsev
  • Oleg Nikolayevich Belyakov


  • BELAERONAVIGATSIA Republican Unitary Air Navigation Services Enterprise
  • Belarusski Avtomobilnyi Zavod (BelAZ) Belarusian Automobile Plant
  • Bremino Group
  • Novaya Neftenaya Kompaniya (New Oil Company)
  • Minski Avtomobilnyi Zavod (MAZ) Minsk Automobile Plant 

Page details

Date modified: