Joint statement on limited resumption of Arctic Council cooperation


June 8, 2022 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden and the United States, today issued the following statement:

“In response to Russia’s full-scale invasion of Ukraine—a flagrant violation of the principles of sovereignty and territorial integrity, based on international law—the other founding states of the Arctic Council—Canada, Finland, Iceland, the Kingdom of Denmark, Norway, Sweden and the United States—on March 3 announced a pause in their participation in the Arctic Council. Since March 3, representatives from these states have examined modalities to allow a resumption of the work of the Arctic Council.

“We remain convinced of the enduring value of the Arctic Council for circumpolar cooperation and reiterate our support for this forum and its important work.

“We intend to implement a limited resumption of our work in the Arctic Council on projects that do not involve the participation of the Russian Federation. These projects, contained in the work plan approved by all 8 Arctic states at the Reykjavik ministerial, are a vital component of our responsibility to the peoples of the Arctic, including Indigenous peoples.

“We continue to examine additional modalities to allow us to further continue the council’s important work.”


Adrien Blanchard
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: