Backgrounder: Additional sanctions against Iran


Effective immediately, Canada is imposing sanctions against Iran in response to its gross and systematic human rights violations, as well as a result of Iran’s grave and ongoing breach of international peace and security.

Canadian measures

The Special Economic Measures (Iran) Regulations impose a prohibition on dealings related to the listed individuals and entities, effectively freezing any assets they may have in Canada. Individuals listed in response to gross and systematic violations of human rights are also rendered inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The specific prohibitions are set out in the regulations.

The names of the individuals added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:

  1. Major General Mohammed-Hossein Bagheri
  2. Major General Hossein Salami
  3. Ali Shamkhani
  4. Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf
  5. Ahmad Vahidi
  6. Esmail Qaani
  7. Alireza Tangsiri
  8. Gholamreza Soleimani
  9. Mohsen Razaei
  10. Safer Ali Mousavi
  11. Zeinab Soleimani
  12. Ahmad Jannati
  13. Saeed Jalili
  14. Sayyed Abdolrahim Mousavi
  15. Ali Akbar Velayati
  16. Gholam-Hossein Mohsei-Eje’i
  17. Esmail Khatib
  18. Hassan Rouhani
  19. Mahmoud Alavi
  20. Hossein Ashtari
  21. Issa Zarepour
  22. Seyyed Mohammed Saleh Hashemi Golpayegani
  23. Sadeq Ardeshir Larijani
  24. Mohammad Rostami Cheshmeh Gachi 
  25. Haj Ahmad Mirzaei 

The names of the entities added to the schedule of these regulations are the following:

  1. Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps’ (IRGC) Cyber Defense Command
  2. The Basij Cooperative Foundation
  3. Basij Resistance Force
  4. Evin Prison
  5. Office of the Enjoining Right and Forbidding Evil
  6. Ministry of Intelligence and Security (MOIS)
  7. The Morality Police
  8. Qassem Soleimani Foundation
  9. Press TV

Page details

Date modified: