Backgrounder – Russia sanctions


Canada is imposing sanctions against Russian officials in response to gross and systematic human rights violations that have been committed in Russia.

Canadian measures

The Special Economic Measures (Russia) Regulations impose on listed individuals a prohibition on dealings (effectively, an asset freeze) by prohibiting persons in Canada and Canadians outside Canada from dealing in any property of these individuals or providing financial or related services to them. The individuals listed under Part 1.1 of the schedule to the regulations for gross human rights violations are also rendered inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The specific prohibitions are set out in the regulations.

The names of the individuals added to the schedule of these regulations are:

  1. Vadim Konstantinovich KALININ
  2. Alexandr Vladimirovich VARAPAEV
  3. Igor Borisovich RAKITIN
  4. Marina Andreyevna BOBEK
  5. Yekaterina Sergeyevna FROLOVA
  6. Kirill Sergeevich NIKIFOROV

Page details

Date modified: