Meeting record – September 26, 2017

Chemicals Management Plan Science Committee
Orientation Session (1:30-3:30 PM EST)


Committee members

  • Miriam Diamond (Co-chair)
  • Geoff Granville (Co-chair)
  • Jon Arnot
  • Richard Becker
  • Elaine Cohen Hubal
  • Michelle Embry
  • Mike Rasenberg


  • Niladri Basu
  • Weihsueh Chiu

Government of Canada officials

  • Nicole Davidson (Director, Ecological Assessment Division, Science and Risk Assessment Division, Science and Technology Branch, Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Christine Norman [Director, Existing Substances Risk Assessment Bureau (ESRAB), Safe Environments Directorate (SED), Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch (HECSB), Health Canada (HC)]
  • Sarah Vanden Hoven (Science Advisor, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)


  • Julie Chouinard (Manager, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)
  • Helen El-Koura (Science Advisor, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)


As a first step in launching the second term of the Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) Science Committee (the committee), the Government of Canada hosted an orientation session on September 26, 2017 for the 9 newly-appointed members of the committee. The session covered information about the CMP as well as administrative details pertinent to the committee moving forward.

Christine Norman and Nicole Davidson welcomed committee members to the session. After brief introductions, the following topics were discussed:

  • The mandate of the committee
  • Roles and responsibilities of the committee members
  • Travel policies and requirements
  • Next steps and cursory details for the first face to face meeting in January

The meeting concluded with a short introductory presentation providing an overview of the Government of Canada's CMP and the approach to risk assessment.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: