Government of Canada celebrates strong support for cutting-edge research

News Release

$2.4-million investment in scientific research at University of Manitoba will deepen knowledge, enhance quality of life and grow the economy

December 9, 2016 – Winnipeg, Manitoba – Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The Government of Canada values the role that scientists play in contributing to the discoveries and innovations that lead to a strong economy, sustainable environment and vibrant middle class. The Honourable MaryAnn Mihychuk, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour, on behalf of the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, was at the University of Manitoba today to celebrate the appointment of two new, as well as the renewal of one, innovative and talented researchers as Canada Research Chairs.

The University of Manitoba will receive $2.4 million for a total of three Canada Research Chairs, including Dr. Feiyue Wang, the new Canada Research Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry. Dr. Wang is studying the release, fate and impact of contaminants in the Arctic under a changing climate. Dr. Wang has pioneered the study of how a changing sea ice environment could affect contaminant transport in the Arctic, and the results of his studies will provide the critical information and tools needed to improve policies and practices leading to sustainable development in the Arctic under a changing climate.

On December 2, 2016, Minister Duncan announced more than $173 million in funding to support a total of 203 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs at 48 post-secondary institutions across the country. This funding will help support cutting-edge research in a number of fields, including environmental and climate science.


"I'd like to extend my sincere congratulations to the latest new and renewed Canada Research Chairs. The Government of Canada is proud to support these elite researchers whose work will improve our scientific understanding and contribute the evidence needed to inform decisions that lead to a vibrant society and a strong middle class."

– The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science

"The chairholders that we are celebrating today at the University of Manitoba offer unique and essential expertise that will benefit Manitoba and Canada. Our government is proud to invest in their important research, which will contribute to the growth of the middle class and have a lasting impact on the quality of life of all Canadians."

– The Honourable MaryAnn Mihychuk, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour

"I am thrilled and humbled by the recognition. With increasing accessibility, the Arctic is becoming Canada's new frontier of industrial development and socioeconomic innovation. The support from the Canada Research Chairs program will allow my team and collaborators to carry out fundamental and applied studies to understand, reduce and mitigate the impact of contaminants associated with projected climate change and industrial development in the Arctic. Such studies are urgently needed to inform and improve policies and practices to balance the long-term economic and socio-societal benefits of such development."

– Dr. Feiyue Wang, Canada Research Chair in Arctic Environmental Chemistry

"I congratulate these three researchers on their success and on receiving these funds. They are all recognized leaders in their field and are expanding our knowledge and understanding of complex systems."

– Dr. Digvir S. Jayas, Vice-President (Research and International) and Distinguished Professor, University of Manitoba

Quick facts

  • More than 1,600 Canada Research Chairs are working at over 70 post-secondary institutions across the country in a wide range of fields.
  • Created in 2000, the Canada Research Chairs Program has helped attract and retain some of the world's most accomplished and promising minds. Canada Research Chairs deepen our knowledge, enhance our quality of life and grow our economy.

Related products

Associated links

Follow Minister Duncan on social media.
Twitter: @ScienceMin
Instagram: sciencemin


Véronique Perron
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Science

Media Relations
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Search for related information by keyword
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: