Government of Canada Welcomes Two New Members to the Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee

News release

February 20, 2019
Ottawa, Ontario
Public Safety Canada

Ensuring a modernized firearms regime helps to keep Canadians safe and promotes responsible ownership of firearms. Today’s Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee (CFAC) meeting offered an exchange on a range of related issues.

In addition, today the Honourable Ralph Goodale, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness announced the appointment two new members: the Honourable Wallace Oppal, Q.C. has been appointed as the new Chair, and Ms. Christine Creyke has been appointed as a member. Mr. Oppal is the former Attorney General of British Columbia and Minister for Multiculturalism, and served on the B.C. Supreme Court from 1985 to 2003. Ms. Creyke is a member of Canada’s Indigenous community and is the Lands Director for the Tahltan Central Government. In this role she is responsible for managing environment, wildlife and resources throughout the Territory. Mr. Oppal and Ms. Creyke participated in their first Committee meeting today.

The Committee provides advice to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness on pragmatic measures to strengthen Canada’s firearms policies, laws and regulations. Its agenda includes the opportunity for members to identify emerging issues in the firearms regime. Members include civilian firearms users, farmers, law enforcement officials, public health advocates, Indigenous communities and women’s organizations.


“The Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee provides common sense advice to help improve Canada’s firearms policies. Wallace Oppal and Christine Creyke add invaluable experience and expertise to this important work, and will help inform new measures to make our country less vulnerable to the scourge of gun violence, while being fair to responsible, law-abiding firearms owners and businesses.”

- The Honourable Ralph Goodale, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Quick facts

  • The Committee consists of up to 15 members appointed by the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness. Members serve on the Committee for a two-year term.

  • This is the fifth meeting of the Committee since CFAC was renewed in 2017.

Associated links


Scott Bardsley
Senior Advisor for Communications
Office of the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness

Media Relations
Public Safety Canada

Page details

Date modified: