Minister Monsef leads Canadian Delegation to the 63rd Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women


Canadian Delegation

The Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister of International Development and Minister for Women and Gender Equality, will lead the Canadian delegation to the 63rd Session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women.

A number of Parliamentarians will join the delegation, including:

  • Donna Dasko, Senator;
  • Marilou McPhedran, Senator;
  • Kim Pate, Senator;
  • Linda Lapointe, Deputy Government Whip;
  • Terry Duguid, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Women and Gender Equality;
  • Anju Dhillon, M.P. Dorval — Lachine — LaSalle;
  • Eva Nassif, M.P. for Vimy;
  • Brenda Shanahan, M.P. for Châteauguay — Lacolle;
  • Sven Spengemann, M.P. for Mississauga-Lakeshore; and
  • Salma Zahid, M.P. for Scarborough Centre.

The delegation includes representatives of provincial and territorial governments, including:

  • The Honourable Lisa MacLeod, Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues, Ontario;
  • Isabelle Charest, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Québec;
  • The Honourable Kelly Regan, Minister Responsible for the Advisory Council on the Status of Women, Nova Scotia; and
  • The Honourable Carol Anne Haley, Minister Responsible for the Status of Women, Newfoundland and Labrador.

The following National Indigenous Leaders and Representatives will be members of the delegation:

  • Robert Bertrand, National Chief, Congress of Aboriginal Peoples;
  • Francyne Joe, President, Native Women’s Association of Canada;
  • Rebecca Kudloo, President, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada;
  • Melanie Omeniho, President, Women of the Métis Nation; and
  • Elizabeth Zarpa, Attorney, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.

The following representatives from non-governmental organizations will also be part of the delegation:

  • Erin Aylward, ARC International & Dignity Network;
  • Kelly Benning, National Association of Friendship Centres;
  • Bonnie Brayton, DisAbled Women’s Network of Canada;
  • Jubanti Dhan Toppo, Antigonish Women’s Resource Centre and Sexual Assault Services Association;
  • Bushra Ebadi, Centre for International Governance Innovation;
  • Shifrah Gadamsetti, Ask her YYC;
  • Mélanie Lemay, Québec contre les violence sexuelles;
  • Nneka MacGregor, WomenatthecentrE
  • Sylvia Maracle, Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres;
  • Maya Roy, YWCA
  • Jewelles Smith, Council of Canadians with Disabilities; and
  • Elizabeth Thipphawong, CUSO International.

Please note that this list is subject to change.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: