Minister Joly Announces New Appointments to the National Capital Commission

News Release

GATINEAU, December 21, 2017

The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage, today announced the appointment of seven new members of the Board of Directors of the National Capital Commission (NCC).

− Mireille Apollon (Quebec), four-year mandate effective immediately

Ms. Apollon was elected as a municipal councillor in Gatineau for two consecutive terms (2009–2013 and 2013–2017), during which she contributed to the development and implementation of the cultural diversity policy. She has prior experience as a management and cultural diversity consultant with the Canadian International Development Agency.

− Larry Beasley (British Columbia), four-year mandate effective January 30, 2018

Mr. Beasley was chief planner at the City of Vancouver until his retirement. He is the founder of the international planning and urban design group Beasley and Associates and a distinguished professor of Planning at the University of British Columbia. He has been Chair of the NCC's Advisory Committee on Design and Planning for 13 years.

− Michael Foderick (Ontario), three-year mandate effective December 17, 2017

Admitted to the Ontario Bar in 2012, Mr. Foderick is a lawyer at McCarthy Tetrault LLP in Toronto, where he specializes in municipal and real estate law. He was Chair and Vice Chair of the Toronto Public Library Board from 2011 to 2015.

− Tanya Gracie (Ontario), three-year mandate effective immediately

A policy lead at the Public Policy Forum, Ms. Gracie brings expertise in the field of democratic engagement, which she has acquired primarily in the Canadian co-operative sector. A recent MBA graduate and experienced governance professional, she also brings expertise in human capital, innovation and entrepreneurship.

− Norm Odjick (Quebec), three-year mandate effective December 17, 2017

A member of the Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg First Nation, Mr. Odjick joined the Anishinabeg Algonquin Nation Tribal Council as Director General in February 2004. He is currently the President of the Native Benefits Plan and is a member of the Board of Directors of the Executive Committee of the Executive Directors of the First Nations of Quebec.

− Sara Jane O’Neill (Ontario), four-year mandate effective immediately

Over the last 10 years, Ms. O’Neill has worked in the areas of project management and environmental management. Following her Masters of Environmental Design (Planning), she served at the Conservation Authorities in Ontario and is currently Senior Research Associate at the Smart Prosperity Institute in Ottawa, working on sustainable community planning.

− Denis B. Vaillancourt (Ontario), four-year mandate effective May 14, 2018

A management and education consultant, Mr. Vaillancourt has worked in the field of education for more than 40 years. Most recently, he was a member and Chair of the Board of Directors of the Réseau des services de santé en français de l’Est de l’Ontario (French Language Health Services Network of Eastern Ontario) and President of the Assemblée de la francophonie de l’Ontario (Francophone Assembly of Ontario).

These appointments are the result of an open, transparent and merit-based selection process.

The NCC is the federal Crown corporation that ensures Canada’s Capital Region is a dynamic and inspiring source of pride for all Canadians and a legacy for generations to come. In all aspects of its planning activities, the NCC upholds the highest standards of excellence. Its goal is to make Canada’s Capital Region a model of urban planning: a place where decisions about the use and development of urban lands are based on considerations of environmental fragility, sustainability, and best practices.


“With their varied experiences and training, the new members of the National Capital Commission’s Board of Directors will help the Crown corporation ensure that Canada’s Capital Region remains a dynamic and inspiring source of pride for all Canadians for generations to come.”

—The Honourable Mélanie Joly, Minister of Canadian Heritage

Quick Facts

  • The Capital Commission Board of Directors is composed of a chair and a chief executive officer appointed by the Governor-in-Council and 13 other commissioners appointed by the Minister of Canadian Heritage with the approval of the Governor in Council.

  • In 2016, the Government of Canada adopted a new approach to Governor in Council appointments. This approach strives for gender parity and is supported by an open, transparent and merit-based selection process: one that will result in the recommendation of exceptionally competent candidates who truly reflect Canada’s diversity.

  • This new approach requires a selection process for the majority of full- and part-time positions.

  • All appointment opportunities for the 18 organizations in the Canadian Heritage Portfolio are posted as they become available on the Governor in Council Appointments website. Interested parties can apply online.

  • As defined in the National Capital Act, passed in 1958 and amended in 1988, the mandate of the NCC is to build a magnificent capital for the people of Canada.

Associated Links


For more information (media only), please contact:

Simon Ross
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage

Media Relations
Canadian Heritage

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: