Cultural property classes

Organizations are designated for specific classes of cultural property based on the cultural property classes below.

Classes of cultural property
ClassCultural property
Class 1 Natural History (including fossils, minerals and other natural history objects) and Archeology
Class 2 Objects of Material Ethnographic Culture
Class 3 Military Objects
Class 4 Objects of Applied and Decorative Arts
Class 5 Objects of Fine Arts
Class 6 Scientific or Technological Objects
Class 7 Archival Material
Class 8 Musical Instruments
Class 9 Audiovisual collections (film, video, new media, including digital)

There are two categories of designated organizations across Canada:

  • Category A: unlimited designation for property from one or more of the above classes.
  • Category B: limited designation for a specific object or collection.

Page details

Date modified: