Minister of Finance Announces Appointments to Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

News release

September 14, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Department of Finance Canada

The Government of Canada is committed to appointing highly qualified candidates able to best serve the interests of Canadians, through open, transparent and merit-based selection processes for all Governor-in-Council appointments.

In keeping with this commitment, Finance Minister Bill Morneau today announced the appointment of Sylvia Chrominska and the re-appointment of Tahira Hassan to the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB). Biographical information on the appointees can be found below.

Biographical Notes

Sylvia Chrominska serves on the Board and as Chair of the Human Resources and Compensation Committee of Wajax Inc and on the Board and as Chair of the Management Resources and Compensation Committee of Emera Inc. She is also on the Boards of Governors of Western University and the Stratford Festival. Ms. Chrominska has previously served as the Chair of the boards of the Bank of Nova Scotia Jamaica and Scotiabank Trinidad & Tobago, as a Director of Dofasco Inc. and Chair of the Human Resources Committee, as the Chair of the Board of Governors of the Canadian Bankers Association, on the Dean's Advisory Committee of Western University's Richard Ivey Business School, as a Member and Honorary Fellow of the Advisory Council for Dalhousie University, as the Chair of the International Women's Forum, and as Board Member and Vice President of the Canadian Club of Toronto. She holds an Honours Degree in Business Administration and an Honorary Doctorate from Western University.

Tahira Hassan is a Non-Executive Director of the Boards of Directors of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board and Brambles Limited. She also serves as Vice Chair and Director of Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences. She previously served on the public boards of Recall Holdings Limited and Dreyer's Grand Ice Cream Holdings as well as the Supervisory Board of Dairy Partners Americas, the Board of Directors of GS1 GDSN and the Board of the Canadian Association of Logistics Management (and as Chair of its Education Committee). She has served as Executive of the Industry Relations Council of the Food and Consumer Products Manufacturers of Canada and on the Dean's Advisory Council of Wilfred Laurier University. Ms. Hassan previously held various multi-national executive leadership roles with Nestlé for over 26 years, including Senior Vice President & Head of Global Supply Chain, Global Business Head of Nescafé Ready to Drink and President of Ice Cream in Canada. Ms. Hassan is a Certified Management Accountant of Canada and a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants in the United Kingdom.


"I would like to extend my thanks to both Ms. Hassan and Ms. Chrominska for undertaking this important commitment to Canadians. The efficient management provided by the CPPIB helps contribute to a safe, secure and dignified retirement for all Canadians, and the experience and expertise these appointees bring to the table will help the Board as it continues its excellent work of building a diversified portfolio of assets that helps ensure the long-term sustainability of the Canada Pension Plan."

Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance

Quick facts

  • The CPPIB is a professional investment management organization that invests the assets of the Canada Pension Plan (CPP) not currently needed to pay pension, disability and survivor benefits.

  • Operating at arm's length from government, the CPPIB is responsible for prudently investing CPP investment funds in a diversified portfolio of assets to serve the best interests of CPP contributors and beneficiaries.

  • Directors of the CPPIB are selected by the federal government in consultation with participating provincial governments. Federal legislative changes in 2014 allow up to three non-resident directors on the board.

Associated links


Media may contact:

Pierre-Olivier Herbert 
Press Secretary 
Office of the Minister of Finance 

Media Relations
Department of Finance Canada

General Enquiries

Phone: 613-369-3710
Facsimile: 613-369-4065
TTY: 613-369-3230

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: