Whooping crane (Grus americana) recovery strategy: chapter 4

4. Lead Organizations and Contacts

Brian Johns
Whooping Crane Coordinator
Canadian Wildlife Service
Prairie and Northern Region
115 Perimeter Road
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Canada S7N 0X4

Tom Stehn
Whooping Crane Coordinator
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Aransas National Wildlife Refuge
P.O. Box 100
Austwell, Texas
USA 77950
(361) 286-3559 Ext. 221

Other responsible jurisdictions and contacts

Mr. Jack Dubois
Director, Wildlife & Ecosystem Protection Branch
Manitoba Conservation
Government of Manitoba
P.O. Box 24, 200 Saulteaux Crescent
Winnipeg, MB R3J 3W3

Mr. Hugh Hunt
Executive Director
Resource Stewardship Branch
Saskatchewan Environment
Government of Saskatchewan
3211 Albert Street, Room 436
Regina, SK S4S 5W6

Mr. James Schaefer
Chief, Salt River First Nation
Box 960
Fort Smith, NT X0E 0P0

Mr. Ron Bjorge
Director, Wildlife Management Branch
Fish and Wildlife Division
Government of Alberta
2nd Floor, Great West Life Building
9920 – 108th Street
Edmonton, AB T5K 2M4

Ms. Susan Fleck
Director, Wildlife Division
Department of Environment and Natural Resources
Government of the Northwest Territories
600, 5102 – 50th Avenue
Yellowknife, NT X1A 3S8

Canada/United States International Whooping Crane Recovery Team Members

  • Brian Johns, Canadian Wildlife Service, Co-Chair
  • Tom Stehn, United States Fish and Wildlife Service, Co-Chair

Canadian representatives

  • Sandie Black, DVM – Calgary Zoo
  • Doug Campbell – Saskatchewan Environment
  • Brian Johns – Canadian Wildlife Service
  • Deborah Johnson – Northwest Territories Environment and Natural Resources
  • Stuart Macmillan – Parks Canada Agency – Wood Buffalo National Park

United States representatives

  • Dr. George Archibald – International Crane Foundation
  • Dr. Felipe Chavez-Ramirez – Platte River Whooping Crane Trust
  • Marty Folk – Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
  • Dr. John French – United States Geological Survey, Biological Resources Division
  • Tom Stehn – U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Canadian Advisory Group representatives

  • Ken De Smet – Manitoba Conservation
  • Vern Jones - Hay River Métis Council
  • Dwight Knapik – Calgary Zoo
  • Bill Lishman/Joe Duff – Operation Migration
  • Chief James Schaefer – Salt River First Nation
  • Lisa Wilkinson – Alberta Sustainable Resource Development
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: