Weatheradio: find your network

Click on the map to find out your network

Over 90 per cent of Canadians live within range of a Weatheradio transmitter. Broadcast range for a Weatheradio transmitter is approximately 60 kilometres, but this depends on things like terrain, the quality of the receiver, and the antenna height above ground.

Weatheradio broadcasts on the frequencies 162.400, 162.425, 162.450, 162.475, 162.500, 162.525, and 162.550 MHz. At selected locations, low power broadcasts without the alert tone are transmitted on the regular FM or AM band. A Weatheradio receiver is not required to hear these broadcasts.

Before you buy a receiver, make sure your area is covered by one of these transmitters.

Weatheradio Canada Status Update – August 23rd, 2022

Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) is continuing to solicit feedback on the possible decommissioning of 48 of 234 Weatheradio Canada transmitters in its national network to better understand the value of this VHF broadcast service to Canadians.

The transmitters identified for possible decommissioning are generally situated in areas where they provide overlapping service and where alternate access channels such as cell phone service, Canadian Coast Guard VHF marine radio, and internet accessibility are readily available as a source of ECCC weather information and alerts. 

As of August 19, 2022, a message will be broadcast on 8 of the proposed transmitters about their impending closure this fall, with details for providing final comments and feedback. These 8 transmitters are: Cooking Lake, AB; Saskatoon, SK; Orillia, ON; Brockville, ON; Fredericton, NB; Perth-Andover, NB; Aspen-Melrose, NS and Grand Falls, NL. 

The Weatheradio Canada network has been modernized through 2021-2022 with new voice technology and an upgraded electronics system. 

If your local Weatheradio transmitter service is experiencing any technical and/or content issues, please email

If you have feedback to contribute about the Weatheradio transmitter service, contact us at 1-877-789-7733 or

Weather information and alerts are always available on our weather website and through our free mobile app, WeatherCAN, which has GPS-located notification functionality for weather alerts.

Page details

Date modified: