Minister Carr to attend G20 Ministerial Meeting on Trade and Digital Economy in Japan

News release

June 7, 2019 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

Canada continues to be a leader in promoting predictable and rules-based international trade. The digitalization of trade is a crucial advancement to help businesses access new markets more easily. Making the most of new technologies is particularly important for small and medium-sized enterprises and marginalized groups such as women entrepreneurs and Indigenous peoples, allowing them to take greater advantage of the benefits of trade.

On June 8 and 9, 2019, the Honourable Jim Carr, Minister of International Trade Diversification, will attend the G20 Ministerial Meeting on Trade and Digital Economy in Tsukuba, Japan. The Minister will participate in discussions on how trade and investment can contribute to inclusive, sustainable, safe and innovative societies and on the interconnection of trade and digital policy.

While in Tsukuba, the Minister will take the opportunity to meet with various counterparts to discuss bilateral relations as well as regional and global issues. G20 discussion topics will include the modernization of the multilateral trading system to reflect 21st-century realities; market-distorting measures such as industrial subsidies and global excess capacity in various sectors; and the digital economy, including the ongoing work at the World Trade Organization on e-commerce as an increasingly important driver of inclusive economic growth.

The G20 meeting will coincide with a trade mission in Japan and South Korea, led by Minister Carr, to promote Canadian canola exports and to continue to tap into new markets and find new customers for Canadian agricultural products.


“Canada strongly believes that inclusive trade is key to the prosperity and growth of our country. Growing protectionism and trade tensions pose a risk to the rules-based trading system. Through the Ottawa Group, Canada is playing a key leadership role to ensure that the World Trade Organization continues to deliver benefits for businesses of all sizes so that they can export their goods and services more easily.”

- Jim Carr, Minister of International Trade Diversification 

Quick facts

  • The G20 comprises 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.

  • The G20 is the primary forum for international economic cooperation among its members. The G20 members are the world’s major economies, representing all inhabited continents, 85% of global economic output, two thirds of the world's population and 75% of international trade.

  • The presidency of the G20 rotates annually among its members; this year, Japan holds the presidency.

Associated links


Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaTrade
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s international trade - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: