Canada imposes additional sanctions on Belarusian officials

News release

October 15, 2020 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

Following the adoption of a first set of targeted sanctions in coordination with the United Kingdom on September 29th, the Government of Canada is today listing an additional 31 Belarusian officials under the Special Economic Measures (Belarus) Regulations.  This second set of sanctions is being adopted in coordination with recent actions taken by the European Union and the United States.

These additional sanctions are being imposed in response to gross and systematic human rights violations that have been committed in Belarus. The aim is to maintain international pressure on the Government of Belarus to find a peaceful and negotiated solution to the current crisis.

The sanctions announced today underscore broad international opposition to the Government of Belarus’ complete disregard for the basic principles of democracy and respect for human rights.


“Today’s actions support wider international efforts to seek a diplomatic resolution to the crisis in Belarus. By demonstrating our firm resolve on sanctions, we strengthen our collective ability to pressure government officials in Belarus to heed the demands of the Belarusian people. Canada continues to stand in solidarity with the people of Belarus as they struggle to restore human rights and achieve democracy in their country.”

- François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Related products

Associated links


Syrine Khoury
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: