Canada imposes additional sanctions against 13 Government officials of Belarus 

News release

November 6, 2020 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

In coordination with the European Union, Canada is today imposing further sanctions against an additional 13 Government officials of Belarus. Canada and the EU continue to share serious concerns about the ongoing situation in Belarus.

Since the fraudulent presidential elections in August 2020, the Government of Belarus has conducted a systematic campaign of repression and state-sponsored violence against public protests and the activities of opposition groups. Canada remains deeply concerned by ongoing, well-documented reports of human rights violations, including against freedom of the press, freedom of expression and peaceful assembly.

We will continue to work together to ensure our respective and collective responses to the situation in Belarus support the rights and legitimate democratic aspirations of the Belarusian people.


“Despite international calls for Aleksandr Lukashenko to end the violence in Belarus, his regime’s aggression continues. Those responsible for repressing the people of Belarus will face increasing pressure through targeted sanctions. Canada will continue to stand in steadfast support of the Belarusian people as they struggle for peace.”

- François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Related products

Associated links


Syrine Khoury
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Page details

Date modified: