Minister Petitpas Taylor announces new appointments to the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research

News Release

Ottawa, December 6, 2017 – Government of Canada

The Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Minister of Health, today announced the appointment of six leading researchers to the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).

The Governing Council develops CIHR's strategic directions, goals and policies, approves CIHR's budget, and evaluates the organization’s overall performance and achievements. The Council also provides advice to the Minister of Health and appoints Scientific Directors and Institute Advisory Board members.

The following outstanding Canadians were appointed by the Governor in Council to three-year terms:

    •    Alice B. Aiken of Halifax, Nova Scotia – Dr. Aiken is the Vice-President (Research) at  Dalhousie University.
    •    Brenda J. Andrews of Toronto, Ontario – Dr. Andrews is a Professor of Molecular Genetics and the Charles H. Best Chair of Medical Research at the University of Toronto.
    •    Mark S. Dockstator of Regina, Saskatchewan – Dr. Dockstator is the President of the First Nations University of Canada.
    •    Nada Jabado of Montréal, Quebec – Dr. Jabado is a Professor of Pediatrics and Human Genetics at McGill University.
    •    Jean Anne Shoveller of Vancouver, British Columbia – Dr. Shoveller is a Professor at the University of British Columbia’s School of Population and Public Health.
    •    Marcello A. Tonelli of Calgary, Alberta – Dr. Tonelli is the Associate Vice-President (Research) at the University of Calgary.

Open, transparent and merit-based selection processes

As announced by the Prime Minister in February 2016, the Government is committed to open and transparent processes for selecting GIC appointees. The selection approach is merit-based. It is designed to identify highly qualified candidates who are committed to the principles of public service and embrace public service values, all while striving to achieve regional representation and gender parity. 


“I am very pleased to announce the appointment of these distinguished men and women to CIHR's Governing Council. They will join other exceptional scientists and researchers responsible for guiding CIHR's investments in health research and its efforts to strengthen our healthcare system and improve the health of all Canadians.”

Ginette Petitpas Taylor
Minister of Health

Quick Facts

  • The Government of Canada is the country's single largest investor in health innovation – primarily through grants funded through CIHR.

  • Composed of 13 Institutes, CIHR provides leadership and support to more than 13,700 health researchers and trainees across Canada.

  • CIHR's Governing Council comprises a group of up to 18 distinguished Canadians who together provide oversight and strategic direction for the organization and evaluate its overall performance.


Thierry Bélair
Office of Ginette Petitpas Taylor
Minister of Health

Page details

Date modified: