Meeting record - November 16-17, 2016

Chemicals Management Plan Science Committee


Committee Members

  • Sylvain Bintein
  • Peter Campbell
  • Nicola Cherry
  • Elaine Cohen Hubal
  • Miriam Diamond
  • Geoff Granville
  • Barbara Hales
  • Greg Paoli
  • Don Wilke

Ad Hoc Members

  • Niladri Basu (Canada Research Chair in Environmental Health Sciences and Associate Professor, McGill University)
  • Russell Thomas (Director of the National Center for Computational Toxicology at the United States Environmental Protection Agency)
  • Maurice Whelan (Head of the Chemical Safety and Alternative Methods Unit and Head of the European Union Reference Laboratory for Alternatives to Animal Testing at the European Commission's Joint Research Centre, Italy)

Government of Canada Officials

  • David Morin [Director General, Safe Environments Directorate, Health Canada (HC)] (Day 2)
  • Nicole Davidson [Director, Ecological Assessment Division (EAD), Science and Technology Branch (STB), Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC)]
  • Christine Norman [Director, Existing Substances Risk Assessment Bureau (ESRAB), Healthy Environments and Consumer Safety Branch (HECSB), HC]
  • Tara Barton-Maclaren (Manager, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)
  • Mark Bonnell (Senior Science Advisor, EAD, STB, ECCC)
  • Marisol Eggleton (Senior Advisor, EAD, STB, ECCC)
  • Thomas Kruidenier (Manager, EAD, STB, ECCC)
  • Heather Patterson (Senior Advisor, ESRAB, HECSB, HC) (Day 1)
  • Matthew Gagné (Senior Evaluator, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)
  • Sarah Vanden Hoven (Science Advisor, ESRAB, HECSB, HC) (Day 2)


  • Julie Chouinard (Manager, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)
  • Christine Allen (Senior Policy Analyst, ESRAB, HECSB, HC)

Guest Presenter

[For the Government of Canada presentation and perspectives from members (items #5-6)]

  • Michelle Embry (Associate Director, Environmental Science, International Life Sciences Institute, Health and Environmental Sciences Institute)

Government of Canada Observers

  • Doug Crump (Biochemical/Molecular Toxicologist, Ecotoxicology and Wildlife Health Division, STB, ECCC)
  • Andy Nong (Computational Toxicologist, Environmental Health Science and Research Bureau, HECSB, HC)

External Observers

[For the introductions, opening remarks, introduction of topic and Charge Questions, and the Government of Canada presentation (items #1-5)]

  • Shannon Coombs (Canadian Consumer Specialty Products Association)
  • Lysane Lavoie (Canadian Paint and Coatings Association)
  • Barbara Mackinnon (New Brunswick Lung Association)
  • Sandra Madray (Chemical Sensitivities Manitoba)
  • Elizabeth Nielsen (Consumers Council of Canada)


The Chemicals Management Plan (CMP) Science Committee (the Committee) met on November 16 and 17, 2016 for a face-to-face meeting. This meeting focused on addressing the Charge Questions related to integrating new approach methodologies within the CMP, specifically, to identify priorities for risk assessment. It included presentations to inform Committee deliberations, as well as a full day discussion to develop a preliminary response to the Charge Questions and next steps for formulating the Committee Report. Outlined below is a brief summary of the meeting.

Day 1

Agenda items #1 - 2 (Introduction and opening remarks)

After brief introductory and opening remarks by Christine Norman (Director, HC) the agenda was reviewed and logistical items were addressed.

It was noted that Committee member Jonathan Martin was unable to attend the November 2016 meeting.

Agenda item #3 (Introductions and declarations)

Geoff Granville declared that he is an adjunct Professor at the University of Alberta (five-year term). He also declared a contract with the Center for the Polyurethanes Industry to review the draft screening assessment and the proposed risk management scope for the organophosphate flame retardants: TCPP and TDCPP.

Barbara Hales declared that she is currently a member of the National Research Council Committee (National Academy of Sciences) on Endocrine-Related Low Dose Toxicity (2015-2017) and that she was a member of the Essential Oil-based Personal Insect Repellent External Advisory Panel for the Pest Management Regulatory Agency (2015-2016).

Agenda item #4 (Introduction of topic and Charge Questions)

The Charge Questions were introduced by the co-chairs. HC and ECCC (the Departments) are seeking input on the development of a roadmap for integrating new approach methodologies as part of the risk assessment paradigm. In particular, the Departments are seeking input on how to enhance current priority-setting approaches through incorporation of new approach methodologies.

Agenda item #5 (Presentation from Government of Canada officials)

Matthew Gagné (HC) and Mark Bonnell (ECCC) delivered a presentation on the Charge Questions. The presentation was intended to inform the Committee on the current Departmental priority setting process and provide considerations for when and how new approach methodologies could be integrated into the process of identifying risk assessment priorities.

The presentation was well received and discussion followed.

Agenda item #6 (Perspectives from members on topic)

A guest presenter and core and ad hoc members provided their perspectives on new approach methodologies, which included discussions on the state of the science in the human health and ecological fields, the potential use of new tools, and problem formulation.

The presentations were well received and followed by discussion.

Agenda item #7 - 8 (Discussion on Charge Questions)

Committee members began preliminary discussions on the Charge Questions. A round table gave each member the opportunity to discuss their perspectives on new approach methodologies and priority setting.

Day 2

Agenda item #9 (Housekeeping items/recap of Day 1)

The co-chairs provided a recap of day one.

Agenda items #10 – 12 (Discussion on Charge Questions)

Committee members engaged in a full day of discussions and constructive dialogue as they developed their preliminary draft input to the Charge Questions.

Agenda item #13 (Next steps for formulation of written report)

It was agreed that the co-chairs would provide members with a draft report for input and comment in December 2016.

Agenda item #14 (Results of the Committee review)

Christine Allen (Secretariat, HC) presented the results of the review of the Committee. Overall, the Committee is meeting its mandate and the members’ contributions to the CMP are highly valued by the Departments. The suggestions for improvement identified in the report will serve to incrementally strengthen the Committee.

Agenda item #15 (Closing remarks)

Christine Norman (Director, HC) noted that the first three-year term of the Committee has ended and the Departments will be reviewing and updating the required areas of expertise for core membership. This is being done to ensure the core Committee members have the necessary expertise to provide input to departmental scientific considerations as the third phase of the CMP and planning for post 2020 continues. Committee members were thanked for their significant contributions to the Departments.

Potential future meeting topics were discussed, and the meeting was adjourned.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: