Discover Canada - Canada’s System of Government

Canada’s System of Government

This graphic shows Canada’s System of Government.

Canada’s system of government consists of the Parliament which has three parts: the Sovereign, who is represented in Canada by the Governor General; the Senate, which is comprised of Senators appointed on the Prime Minister’s recommendation; and the House of Commons, made up of members elected by voters. In the House of Commons, there are Government Members and Opposition Members.

The three branches of government – the executive branch (which includes the Prime Minister and Cabinet), the legislative branch and Judiciary branch are also indicated.

The Legislative Branch of Canada’s government is comprised of the Sovereign, the Senate and the House of Commons.

The Judiciary branch is made up of the Supreme Court of Canada which consists of nine judges appointed by the Governor General. Below the Supreme Court of Canada are the Federal Court of Canada and the Provincial Courts.

[End of text version - Back to Canada’s System of Government]

Page details

Date modified: