CIMM – International Students – May 04, 2026

Key Messages

Key facts and figures

Refusal rates

If pressed on IRCC’s processing timelines online:

If pressed on processing timelines for study permit extensions:

If pressed on Department’s commitment to improving outcomes for study permit applicants from countries with lower approval rates:

Program Changes and Updated Requirements

Updated Financial Requirements

International Student Fraud

Program Integrity Improvements

Regulatory amendments

If pressed:

International Student Compliance Regime

If pressed on possible non-compliance of the 38,394:

DLI Compliance Regime

Student Asylum Claims

Francophone Minority Communities Student Pilot

If pressed:

Data—Study Permit Holders by Distribution

Permit holders (SP/SP-EXT) by Calendar Year 2023–2026 YTD (February 28)
DLI Institution Type 2023 2024 2025 2026
Public Institution Career College 140 (0%) 115 (0%) 100 (0%) 60 (0%)
College 516,270 (54%) 500,015 (54%) 374,215 (49%) 180,490 (39%)
Language School 315 (0%) 235 (0%) 120 (0%) 70 (0%)
Theological School -- (0%) -- (0%) -- (0%) -- (0%)
University 419,550 (44%) 413,610 (45%) 374,970 (49%) 268,545 (57%)
Other 16,305 (2%) 21,170 (2%) 22,010 (3%) 14,190 (3%)
Public Institution Total 948,510 (100%) 929,760 (100%) 762,045 (100%) 462,760 (100%)
Private Institution Career College 74,180 (37%) 82,575 (37%) 64,621 (35%) 33,070 (30%)
College 42,080 (21%) 43,090 (19%) 36,660 (20%) 21,505 (19%)
Flight School 1,115 (1%) 1,030 (0%) 905 (0%) 580 (0%)
Language School 16,255 (8%) 13,245 (6%) 9,255 (5%) 4,270 (4%)
Theological School 1,785 (1%) 1,645 (1%) 1,575 (1%) 1,250 (1%)
University 43,940 (22%) 54,155 (24%) 50,190 (27%) 33,140 (30%)
Other 24,445 (12%) 28,000 (13%) 26,375 (14%) 17,860 (16%)
Private Institution Total 201,780 (100%) 221,935 (100%) 186,045 (100%) 111,325 (100%)
Primary and Secondary Total 179,235 (100%) 208,715 (100%) 219,725 (100%) 172,595 (100%)
Grand Total 1,313,570 1,344,315 1,141,245 744,900

Primary and Secondary are captured as “not stated” in the administrative data sets. Data represents a cumulative count. Please note that all values are rounded to the closest multiple of 5, or numbering fewer than 5 are masked. This is done to prevent individuals from being identified when IRCC data is compiled and compared to other publicly available statistics. As a result of rounding, data may not sum to the totals indicated. Data are preliminary and subject to change. Source: IRCC, RDB Temporary Residents February 28, 2026, Data

Permit holders (SP/SP-EXT) by Calendar Year 2023–2026 YTD (February 28)
Institution Type 2023 2024 2025 2026 YTD
Public Institution 948,510 (72%) 929,760 (69%) 762,045 (67%) 462,760 (62%)
Private Institution 201,780 (15%) 221,935 (17%) 186,045 (16%) 111,325 (15%)
Primary and Secondary 179,235 (14%) 208,715 (16%) 219,725 (19%) 172,595 (23%)
Grand Total 1,313,570 (100%) 1,344,315 (100%) 1,141,245 (100%) 744,900 (100%)

Primary and Secondary are captured as “not stated” in the administrative data sets. Data represents a cumulative count. Please note that all values are rounded to the closest multiple of 5, or numbering fewer than 5 are masked. This is done to prevent individuals from being identified when IRCC data is compiled and compared to other publicly available statistics. As a result of rounding, data may not sum to the totals indicated. Data are preliminary and subject to change. Source: IRCC, RDB Temporary Residents February 28, 2026, Data

Page details

2026-09-04